Forum

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    11

    Channel Descr. Problem

    Huhu ^ ^

    I have a problem.
    The channel description is always half of the text cut off.
    How many characters can be used? or how to increase it?

    Greets Legu

  2. #2
    Join Date
    September 2006
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    14

    Angry

    huhu,

    Yes, all delete after 254 characters.

    ***german part deleted***
    Last edited by dante696; January 10th, 2010 at 09:57 PM. Reason: English only

  3. #3
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    439
    The field in the database is only 255 chars.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    11
    Huhu

    For people with the variant mysql: go to the database and tabele "Channel_Properties"
    Then change the field "value" of "varchar (255)" on eg. "Varchar(2000)"
    that should be enough.

    for people with sqlite should go similar with the one program.

    greets Legu

  5. #5
    Join Date
    September 2006
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    14
    Yes, i have edited to varchar(500). This is enough.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    33

    [Solved] Descriptions truncated after updates

    Whenever there is an update one of the channels on my TS has it's description cut in half. Anyone know why this is?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    33
    Ok ignore this, it was the "Value" field in the "channel_properties" table. It is varchar(255) and so for those who want large channel descriptions change this to "text" with no limit set.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6

    Mysql, truncated, Inconsistent Data

    Hi,

    i've found a strange bug. Let me explain that...:

    When you create/ edit a channel and specify a description that is longer than 255 chars, the whole channel data (except of the 'channel_name' and 'channel_topic') is deleted from database (mysql). That is caused of the datatype 'varchar(255)' for the column 'value' in 'channel_properties'.
    And yes... the TS3-Client shows no warning. It means the channel was successfully edited

    The strange thing is...
    When you restart the Server, all channels with that lost data will be deleted. Additionaly all channels that are sorted after that lost channels are also deleted ('duplicate orderID', 'missing zero channelOrderID').

    That happened to me twice... and i've looked into the database for a couple of hours... and tried to repair that manually at first.

    For now i've changed the datatype to 'text' of the 'value'-column and it worked. Now all channels with longer description are saved successfully to database. But i think that (or a warning for long descriptions) have to be fixed for other users

    Best regards
    Dirk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    June 2002
    Location
    Krün / Germany
    Posts
    1,638
    the problem is that mysql does not tell me that the database truncated the text. so i cant report anything back to the client...

    i got this already on my todo list and with one of the next releases the table got a varchar(8192) field. this requests an quite uptodate mysql version!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6
    I know that mysql doesn't report, that data gets truncated. ^^

    But in this case the data don't get truncated.... the whole datarow for ident 'channel_description' and all other channel properties, especially 'channel_order', gets deleted.
    That causes a broken channel and broken order for all channels, that where ordered behind that broken channel.

    See... we had a new channel "Bündnisbesprechung" (engl.: alliance meeting (?!)) with a long description. After the next restart, that channel, and 30 other channels were lost. The 'alliance meeting' channel was removed with error log 'duplicate orderID'. All other channels couldn't be load and were also deleted.
    If that broken channel is the first subchannel, the error log is 'missing zero channelOrderID'.

    That is why i wondered. In all my programs (that run with mysql^^) the data only gets truncated... not deleted. So i thought it's not a mysql-only bug.

    Nevermind.. now it works... and it's on your ToDo. That's all i wanted.
    And... my mysql is uptodate... so gimme that mighty varchar!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    June 2002
    Location
    Krün / Germany
    Posts
    1,638
    can you give me a, for noobs, step by step howto for repdroducing this bug?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6
    Of course. Thats very easy:

    create a channel
    use a description with more than 255 chars.. to be sure use a lot more.
    save this channel

    go to mysql and make a query for this channel_id in table channel_properties
    you will see two datarows (other channels have 19 datarows)

    restart your teamspeak server (whole process, not just the virtual ts)
    look into your log and you will find a error

    thats all. Its really simple. I Hope you can reproduce this. In my case it works even with the current beta21.

    Ps: sorry for the late answer. I'm in vacation and writing from phone ^^
    and.. I don't think you need an answer for 'noobs'

  13. #13
    Join Date
    June 2002
    Location
    Krün / Germany
    Posts
    1,638
    checked with mysql 5.1.37 and i cant reproduce it?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6
    mhh.. thats strange. Is your description only truncated?

    I will build a test Environment for that with a fresh install and recheck this, when i'm back home. Maybe there was an incomplete update ?!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    June 2002
    Location
    Krün / Germany
    Posts
    1,638
    the description is truncated yes.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. mysql data base
    By tabyret in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 12th, 2012, 08:05 AM
  2. Moving sqlite data to new mysql database
    By DGNTeam in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 16th, 2010, 11:04 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •