Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    69

    Beta 21 - FMOD system initialization changes?

    Hi TS3 Dev's -

    Our current project is heavily using the FMOD system objects provided by TS3. I see no notes in the changelog about an FMOD upgrade nor any changes.

    But in B21, the following has stopped working:
    1. Load a sound from a resource into memory
    2. Get the global FMOD system object via getCurrentPlaybackDevice()
    3. Load the sound via createSound() with the following: FMOD_OPENMEMORY_POINT | FMOD_CREATESAMPLE | FMOD_SOFTWARE

    Ex:
    Code:
     
    exinfo.length = sound->length;
    ts3Functions.getCurrentPlaybackDevice(ts3Functions.getCurrentServerConnectionHandlerID(), (void **)&this->mSystem);
    err = this->mSystem->createSound(sound->data, FMOD_OPENMEMORY_POINT  | FMOD_CREATESAMPLE | FMOD_SOFTWARE,&exinfo,&sound->fmodHandle);
    	if(err) {
    		TRACE("FMOD error! (%x) %s", err, FMOD_ErrorString(err));
    	}
    The system object is initialized correctly, and the function does call correctly. However, the createSound now fails with
    FMOD_ERR_INVALID_PARAM
    whereas with B20, this code worked fine.

    I know this might be an FMOD question - but nothing in the recent changelog of FMOD suggests any changes in this either. So I'm not sure if perhaps it underlying changes?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    July 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,191
    Hello,

    to clarify, are you using the client plugin interface? Or the stand alone SDK?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    69
    Okay. I have the problem resolved now.

    Note to anyone else who runs into this:

    B21 used a development build of FMOD (while B20 used the stable release). This development build only lasted about 15 days, and then was lapsed.

    Currently, there is no way to tell what version of FMOD TS3 is using (DLL's don't change versions, etc). So the only way to find it is to use:

    FMOD::System->getVersion() and then dissect what this is.

    The version used was dev-beta build 4.31.02 of FMOD.
    You can download it here: http://www.fmod.org/index.php/download/find

    Dear TS3 Dev's,

    I request that the team please include FMOD version changes within the changelog.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    69
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter View Post
    Hello,

    to clarify, are you using the client plugin interface? Or the stand alone SDK?
    Client plugin interface; apologies for not mentioning that. but as seen above, it was a more generic problem.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    November 2009
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    379
    Currently, there is no way to tell what version of FMOD TS3 is using (DLL's don't change versions, etc).
    you sure? in windows it says

    Fmodex.dll
    0.4.31.2
    FMOD Ex SoundSystem

    im on Beta22pre btw.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    69
    Quote Originally Posted by azzy101 View Post
    you sure? in windows it says

    Fmodex.dll
    0.4.31.2
    FMOD Ex SoundSystem

    im on Beta22pre btw.
    I am positive. There was a silent version change from b20 and b21/b22.

    TS3 Devs:

    I repeat my request. Please document fmod changes; or please official state you will *not*, and we, as plugin developers, must keep API's available to track your changes every release.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    June 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1
    I second to that motion.
    Please help Jaynus out!
    Posting changelogs with the updates is really important..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,360
    Quote Originally Posted by jaynus View Post
    I am positive. There was a silent version change from b20 and b21/b22.

    TS3 Devs:

    I repeat my request. Please document fmod changes; or please official state you will *not*, and we, as plugin developers, must keep API's available to track your changes every release.
    At one position they said that there was a FMOD update :
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter View Post
    Linux users: Thanks to the folks at FMOD we now have native Pulse Audio support. Pulse Audio will be used automatically when available (and "Automatically Use Best" is chosen) or can be chosen explicitly from your playback and capture settings.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    July 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,191
    We will try to remember to add the fmod version to the changelog when we bump it in the future.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 65
    Last Post: November 26th, 2017, 12:39 PM
  2. [Fmod unfixable] No wave sound played since beta 30
    By Styks in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 14th, 2010, 12:53 PM
  3. TS3 3.0.0 beta 29 system lockup after exit
    By maxiumguitar in forum Windows
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 13th, 2010, 08:19 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •