Forum

Page 1 of 49 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 1043

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    February 2006
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    4,143

    [Tutorial]Port Forwarding (a.k.a. clients cannot connect)

    Please don't PM me with a question or problem related to this topic unless you've first posted in this topic and are having trouble after receiving an answer to your post. Posting the question or problem in this thread is much better as someone else may have the same problem or question and if you PM me for the answer no one else reading this thread will know what the answer was to that question or problem.

    Here's a brief explanation on port forwarding for those that are having trouble getting clients to connect to their server.

    (Beta 25 - The black box that opens when you run your server is your server so don't close this!)

    First you need to know the ports TS3 is using. In the FAQs these ports are listed as follows:

    Default voice port (UDP): 9987
    Default filetransfer port (TCP): 30033
    Default serverquery port (TCP): 10011


    (this part for windows users only
    )
    Next you need to know the IP address of the computer running the server. Go to the start menu and click RUN. Now type cmd. In this new window type ipconfig and find the IPv4 address. (see pic #1) This is your LAN IP address. You will forward the ports to this IP address. Anyone on your personal network will need to use this IP to connect to your server.

    (for all operating systems)
    Now go to http://whatismyip.com/ to find your external IP address. (see pic #2) This will appear in the top center of the page. Give this to your friends so they can connect.

    Go to http://portforward.com/ and find your router make and model. On the 2nd page select SKIP THIS ADVERTISEMENT in the top right then select Teamspeak on page 3.

    **NOTE** If you only have a modem or use a fiber optic internet connection You may have to consult your device's manual or contact your ISP for more information.

    Follow the instructions on this page but be sure to use the ports for Teamspeak 3 and not the Teamspeak 2 ports they have listed on this page. NOTE: Some routers require a port range and not just a single port. Example would be 9986-9988 to open port 9987.

    If this is done properly your ports will be forwarded through your firewall and your friends outside your LAN should be able to connect.

    Please don't PM me with a question or problem related to this topic unless you've first posted in this topic and are having trouble after receiving an answer to your post. Posting them in this thread is much better as someone else may have the same problem or question and if you PM me for the answer no one else reading this thread will know what the answer was to that question or problem.
    Last edited by poisonpanik; February 20th, 2011 at 03:47 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310

    Add information

    Good tuto.

    (The black box that opens when you run your server is your server so don't close this!)
    This will be not necessary from BETA 26

  3. #3
    Join Date
    February 2006
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    4,143
    Great news! I'll be sure to edit this when 26 comes along. I knew the devs had said that would happen. Did they make it a system tray icon like TS2 was? Hope they brought back the right click->SHOW MY IP option like TS2 had

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310
    Yes we have an icon.

    But for this moment (when I write this post) with the right click we just have the exit button

    *** Add to Poisonpanik's Tuto ***
    To be sure that your server used the good IP (if your server machine have a several IP) and to be sure your port is good forwarded, you can used this site :
    http://www.canyouseeme.org

    Thank's Dante696
    Last edited by florian_fr40; July 10th, 2010 at 11:00 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    February 2006
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    4,143
    Maybe that'll be in a later release. Would be great if it said LAN IP = XXX , WAN (or external) IP = XXX I'll wait and see how it goes and if it doesn't show up in an update or two I'll toss the request out there.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310
    Yes, and it's will be necessary with voip_ip, ftp_ip and query_ip parameters

  7. #7
    Join Date
    August 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    2
    I opend all ports: but still can my friend not join, this massage shows: Failed to connect to server.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    February 2006
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    4,143
    PM me your ip/port and I'll try to connect.

    I also get a failure. Do you have any software like anti-virus or firewall that might be preventing the connection?
    Last edited by florian_fr40; March 26th, 2012 at 09:20 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    August 2010
    Location
    north dakota, usa
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by poisonpanik View Post
    Here's a brief explanation on port forwarding for those that are having trouble getting clients to connect to their server.

    (Beta 25 - The black box that opens when you run your server is your server so don't close this!)

    First you need to know the ports TS3 is using. In the FAQs these ports are listed as follows:

    Default voice port (UDP): 9987
    Default filetransfer port (TCP): 30033
    Default serverquery port (TCP): 10011


    (this part for windows users only
    )
    Next you need to know the IP address of the computer running the server. Go to the start menu and click RUN. Now type cmd. In this new window type ipconfig and find the IPv4 address. (see pic #1) This is your LAN IP address. You will forward the ports to this IP address. Anyone on your personal network will need to use this IP to connect to your server.

    (for all operating systems)
    Now go to http://whatismyip.com/ to find your external IP address. (see pic #2) This will appear in the top center of the page. Give this to your friends so they can connect.

    Go to http://portforward.com/ and find your router make and model. On the 2nd page select SKIP THIS ADVERTISEMENT in the top right then select Teamspeak on page 3.

    Follow the instructions on this page but be sure to use the ports for Teamspeak 3 and not the Teamspeak 2 ports they have listed on this page. NOTE: Some routers require a port range and not just a single port. Example would be 9986-9988 to open port 9987.

    If this is done properly your ports will be forwarded through your firewall and your friends outside your LAN should be able to connect.
    This just fixed all my problems thanks a bunch!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    August 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    2

    Logging to my server.

    Oki so I just finished setting up a server and change the password etc. But when others or myself try to connect using my IP and port it fails to connect. Anyone know what this can be?

    I run the newest Mac OS client.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310
    Hello

    Have you read this post :
    http://forum.teamspeak.com/showthread.php?t=56314

  12. #12
    Join Date
    August 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    2
    Nope I didn’t check that thank you so much <3

  13. #13
    Join Date
    December 2010
    Location
    bermuda, ill
    Posts
    4

    please help!

    I have been tryign to get my ts3 server working for days, i tried using port checker and it says the ports are open! i can connect inside my lan, but no one on outside can connect, need help

  14. #14
    Join Date
    February 2006
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    4,143
    @OFCRILX
    Have you done everything in this tutorial? Are you positive you forwarded the ports to the correct IP address? Did you set a static IP or reserve an IP for the computer that runs the server?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    December 2010
    Location
    indonesia
    Posts
    2

    Wink

    im sorry my english very poor this is port forward, my server use windows and router useing mikrotik Rb750g..
    ok lets go.
    after u open winbox and login
    choose ip, firewall, nat, copy anyone, and then a little configuration,done.. ur server now up..
    hemm you can see in picture..

    im sorry if im wrong section to post this.. i hope anyone forgive me..

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. SRV port forwarding
    By Spanky Deluxe in forum Server Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: October 7th, 2016, 11:10 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 2nd, 2012, 09:12 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 24th, 2011, 09:20 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •