Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Banner Oddity

  1. #1
    Join Date
    November 2003
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Posts
    16

    Question Banner Oddity

    Hello,

    I'm new at this so please be gentle kids. I have tried to search this issue but could not find anything specific here. I'm running Beta 29 server on a Windows XP Pro box but this "issue" has been in existence on older versions as well.

    I understand how to edit the virtual server and enter links for the banner. As a matter of fact the banner shows up fine in the TS3 Web Interface as shown in this link: http://www.scannewengland.net/forums...plate=tsviewer .

    However, none of the clients are able to see it, regardless of their account level on the server. Is this a permission issue I'm missing for clients or some other oddity.

    I'm stumped. Any input would be greatly appreciated. My thanks in advance.

    Scott
    Last edited by florian_fr40; October 23rd, 2011 at 08:32 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    November 2003
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks for the response. Unfortunately that is not solving the problem. It was originally 950 x 150 pixels. I have reduced it to as much as 356 x 56 and it is still not showing. I did a restart of the server after making the change.

    Is there a maximum size that it should be? Also I am using .gif format. The file is hosted at my website in the "root" directory, i.e. http://www.scannewengland.net/banner.gif .

    The banner continues to show fine at the web viewer....I'm baffled.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310
    Strange,

    I save your banner in other web server, put in test server and that works, but not with the currently web link ....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    November 2003
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Posts
    16
    Interesting. I'll try hosting it at Photobucket and see if it works from there. Your message tells me that the size I have it at currently and the .gif format will work. Thanks for testing.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    November 2003
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Posts
    16

    Thumbs up

    The move to Photobucket seems to have done the trick. Thanks, I'm now showing it at my server.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    263
    good to hear hosting it somewhere worked for you.

    on the size of banner i have found no limit to size other than
    how you want all your clients to see it.

    the screenshot link below shows a banner way too big for client window.
    uploaded to imageshack at 1920 x 1200.

    banners about 300-320 in width works about best for me.
    fits well with client Avatar size limit 300x300

    http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/9...ets3banner.png

  7. #7
    Join Date
    November 2003
    Location
    Cape Cod, MA
    Posts
    16
    Thanks again. Using a 776 x 83 banner now and it's working fine. I appreciate it!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •