Forum

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    January 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5

    Unusual high system load when running ts3-server

    Hello,

    i am running a ts3-beta30 x86 server on a Ubuntu 10.04-LTS virtual machine (KVM/libvirt). the virtual machine uses two cores of a intel core-i7 920 processor and has 1gb ram. the only services running at this virtual machine are teamspeak3 and a left4dead2-server.

    now i have some issues with teamspeak. ts3 generates a very high and unstable system load. this happens with and without clients. the load is definitively caused by ts3, as i tried it without the source server and the load stays high. if ts3 is offline and only the source server is running, the load averages around 0.4 ...

    graphic from system monitoring attached. load < 0.5 = ts3 disabled

    any ideas ? the spikes above > 2.0 are way to high for a simple service.
    the ts3 is a NPL, with a maximum of 32 users, voice encryption off.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310
    Hello

    Do you get something (error or information messages) in the server log ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    January 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5
    Hello,

    nothing unusual in the logs :/

    Code:
    2011-01-03 11:04:30.971563|INFO    |ServerLibPriv |   | Server Version: 3.0.0-beta30 [Build: 12998], Linux
    2011-01-03 11:04:31.001677|INFO    |DatabaseQuery |   | dbPlugin name:    SQLite3 plugin, Version 2, (c)TeamSpeak Systems GmbH
    2011-01-03 11:04:31.003342|INFO    |DatabaseQuery |   | dbPlugin version: 3.7.3
    2011-01-03 11:04:31.006015|INFO    |DatabaseQuery |   | checking database integrity (may take a while)
    2011-01-03 11:04:31.035825|INFO    |SQL           |   | pruning old database log entries where timestamp is older than 90 days
    2011-01-03 11:04:31.224878|INFO    |Accounting    |   | Licensing Information
    2011-01-03 11:04:31.225166|INFO    |Accounting    |   | type              : Non-profit
    2011-01-03 11:04:31.225288|INFO    |Accounting    |   | starting date     : Sun Jan  2 00:00:00 2011
    2011-01-03 11:04:31.225317|INFO    |Accounting    |   | ending date       : Mon Jan  2 00:00:00 2012
    2011-01-03 11:04:31.225345|INFO    |Accounting    |   | max virtualservers: 10
    2011-01-03 11:04:31.225367|INFO    |Accounting    |   | max slots         : 32
    2011-01-03 11:04:31.276239|INFO    |FileManager   |   | listening on 0.0.0.0:30033
    2011-01-03 11:04:31.482715|INFO    |VirtualServer |  1| listening on 0.0.0.0:6666
    2011-01-03 11:04:31.489129|INFO    |CIDRManager   |   | updated query_ip_whitelist ips: 127.0.0.1,
    2011-01-03 11:04:31.490194|INFO    |Query         |   | listening on 0.0.0.0:10011
    2011-01-06 14:02:39.699891|INFO    |ServerMain    |   | Received signal SIGTERM, shutting down.
    2011-01-06 14:02:39.774250|INFO    |VirtualServer |  1| stopped
    server logs are fine too, no signs for an attack or ddos

  4. #4
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    226
    I noticed quite a similar problem, see my thread from July last year: http://forum.teamspeak.com/showthread.php?t=56445

    I find the high interrupt count especially peculiar, do you notice something similar on your system?
    I would still be concerned running the full 500 users, but for my small user base this is no problem. But if somebody would knew something, I would be curious for a solution, because the servers the VM is running on do a lot more without any load issues.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    January 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5
    Hmm, i don't know if these interrupt counts are normal or not.

    the host's eth0 has around 10k interrupts/sec when bandwidth is maxed out (100 mbit, nightly backup to ftp).

    the VM looks quite normal i think, a high count of local timer is normal. (i reconfigure the VM to 1 GB RAM)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,800
    I've had a similar High CPU usage reported by my VM status page since I updated to beta30. Not found the cause. Even more confusing is that running top in the VM terminal it looks like the normal low CPU usage. Not found the reason that only while running beta30 my VM server's status page is showing this high usage.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    226
    Just for the record: We both don't have high CPU usage even far from it, we have nearly no CPU usage. But we both experience high load.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    January 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5
    I think the problem is associated with a high count of interrupt/context switches.

    If i start the ts3-server, the number of context switches increases about 2000 per second. i don't know if that is a very high value, but another vm with a webserver, mysql, ftp, etc. pp. has only a number of 0-60 context switches per second.

    maybe that is an problem of the ts3 server, but it could also be a circumstance due to the virtualization.

    maybe i'll try that with my desktop, it has a core i7-860, the server has a i7-920.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    226
    Quote Originally Posted by syscore View Post
    maybe i'll try that with my desktop, it has a core i7-860, the server has a i7-920.
    And did you? i would love to know how it affected the load. And if someone runs a TS3 server on a vmware esx server with some more users (200+?) I would really like to know how the load looks like...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    January 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5
    No, i had no time yet. But i will do this this week.

    I found a possibility to lower the load by disabling the tickless kernel (boot ubuntu via grub flag: nohz=off, both vm and host).

    now, the average load is smaller than before, as you can see on the attached monitoring stats. at the weekly graphic you can clearly see the point at which i enabled nohz=off

  11. #11
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    226
    Interesting, maybe I'll find time tomorrow to restart the server... Thanks.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    2
    Same here, nobody seems to have a solution. Any hints? This is still happening with 3.0.5 on amd64 Kernel 3.3.4 (rolled my own..)

  13. #13
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3
    I have installed ts3 on a fresh installed server... nothing is on the server besides that idle ts3 server

    Code:
    top - 10:24:45 up 1 day, 17 min,  1 user,  load average: 1.23, 1.39, 1.35
    Tasks: 106 total,   1 running, 105 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
    Cpu(s):  0.1%us,  0.1%sy,  0.0%ni, 99.8%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
    Mem:  16320632k total,   607316k used, 15713316k free,    32736k buffers
    Swap: 33553332k total,        0k used, 33553332k free,   213312k cached
    
      PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND           
      818 teamspea  20   0  256m 7876 4692 S    1  0.0  18:45.19 ts3server_linux    
     4759 user1     20   0 17332 1304  960 R    0  0.0   0:00.21 top
    the system is a ubuntu 10.4 (minimal install image)
    Code:
    Linux omikron 3.2.0-26-generic #41-Ubuntu SMP Thu Jun 14 17:49:24 UTC 2012 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    I checked the log files and it looks like that the load was that high and there wasn't even a virtualserver running because I did not move the license key from the old server

    Code:
    ==> ts3server_2012-07-04__08_07_29.780087_0.log <==
    2012-07-04 08:07:29.841909|INFO    |ServerLibPriv |   | TeamSpeak 3 Server 3.0.6.1 (2012-06-29 07:59:05)
    2012-07-04 08:07:29.842478|INFO    |DatabaseQuery |   | dbPlugin name:    SQLite3 plugin, Version 2, (c)TeamSpeak Systems GmbH
    2012-07-04 08:07:29.861133|INFO    |DatabaseQuery |   | dbPlugin version: 3.7.3
    2012-07-04 08:07:29.911153|INFO    |DatabaseQuery |   | checking database integrity (may take a while)
    2012-07-04 08:07:30.534827|WARNING |Accounting    |   | Unable to find valid license key, falling back to limited functionality
    2012-07-04 08:07:30.701191|INFO    |FileManager   |   | listening on 0.0.0.0:30033
    2012-07-04 08:07:35.762749|ERROR   |VirtualSvrMgr |   | loading VirtualServer(1) failed to start, error: max slot limit reached
    2012-07-04 08:07:35.779057|ERROR   |VirtualSvrMgr |   | loading VirtualServer(2) failed to start, error: max slot limit reached
    2012-07-04 08:07:35.779644|INFO    |CIDRManager   |   | updated query_ip_whitelist ips: 127.0.0.1 
    2012-07-04 08:07:35.779954|INFO    |Query         |   | listening on 0.0.0.0:10011
    
    
    ==> ts3server_2012-07-04__08_07_29.780087_1.log <==
    2012-07-04 08:07:35.769357|INFO    |VirtualServer |  1| stopped
    
    ==> ts3server_2012-07-04__08_07_29.780087_2.log <==
    2012-07-04 08:07:35.779083|INFO    |VirtualServer |  2| stopped
    Last edited by dafire; July 5th, 2012 at 11:16 AM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    October 2010
    Location
    Warsaw / Poland
    Posts
    296
    2012-07-04 08:07:35.762749|ERROR |VirtualSvrMgr | | loading VirtualServer(1) failed to start, error: max slot limit reached
    2012-07-04 08:07:35.779057|ERROR |VirtualSvrMgr | | loading VirtualServer(2) failed to start, error: max slot limit reached
    Put valid license file in your teamspeak folder or change such records in your database.

    PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
    818 teamspea 20 0 256m 7876 4692 S 1 0.0 18:45.19 ts3server_linux
    Cpu(s): 0.1%us, 0.1%sy, 0.0%ni, 99.8%id
    Can't see a problem with teamspeak using 1% of mem and 0.1% of cpu.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3
    The license file is still active on the old server... I will move it to the new one when we switch the dns records.

    load average: 1.23, 1.39, 1.35
    is what concerned me a little ... while the cpu usage of server is at 0.1% it still has a system load > 1.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. TS3 Server causing high Load
    By dermute in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 2nd, 2012, 09:58 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: November 15th, 2011, 04:24 AM
  3. [Server] Very High CPU-Load
    By InComplete in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 13th, 2011, 06:28 PM
  4. TS Server creating high cpu load
    By Sprenger120 in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: October 14th, 2010, 07:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •