Forum

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    27

    Serversnapshotdeploy will not work

    Hello everybody,
    before the question arises, yes, I have read page 15 in the serverquery manual about the two commands and successfully created a snapshot of a virtualserver.

    What I want to do:

    move a virtualserver from server a to server b.

    I am using PuTTY to create and capture the snapshot. The output is a single line with no line breaks/new lines which is quite extensive, since the server has many channels and a lot of registered clients. The way I save the snapshot is that I log PuTTYs output into a textfile.

    When I copy that single line from the serversnapshotcreate-procedure into the telnet connection to use serversnapshotdeploy, I get the following error message:

    error id=1538 msg=invalid\sparameter

    So, importing the server does not work as expected. Is this a known issue, and if so, are there any solutions? If it's a new issue, what can I do to help resolve this?

    Why do I not just copy the server database to the from server a to server b? I want to migrate the virtualserver from server b to server a, which already has other virtualservers running. So, just copying the database is no solution since this would delete all existing virtualservers.

    Both servers run the latest beta 30 of the teamspeak server software for windows.
    Last edited by eViLsTieFel; January 7th, 2011 at 05:20 PM. Reason: Added some information

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310
    Hello

    With putty you haven't the entire line.
    You can use the ServerQuery console on the client (Tools > ServerQuery), but the line is too big.

    You must use a script for that.

    Or use the Psychokiller's web interface.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    27
    That is not the problem, I do have the entire line. As I have stated, I use logging to capture the output. The line starts with hash=I2jQF2vg and ends with end_flat|end_permissions, followed by the line error id=0 msg=ok. This is exactly what I get if I use psychokiller's interface to export. However, importing still results in the error message given above.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310
    I assume before deploy the snapshot of the server a, you replaced the Hash, virtualserver_unique_identifier and key_pair parameters (to match of the server b).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    27
    Thanks for that comment, as I couldn't find any text about this being necessary. Although after fixing these three parameters, the error still prevails.

    Just to proove that the snapshot logged by PuTTY is in the right format: when I "serversnapshotdeploy" the snapshot just created at the new "clean" target virtualserver, the process works.

    But even when I try to deploy the snapshot of the virtualserver that I want to transfer onto itself, I get the error.

    So I assume there must be some permission value, or general value in that virtualserver that is either

    • unvalid as it is outdated
    • contains characters which break the process


    I guess there is not much I can do about that

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310
    Quote Originally Posted by eViLsTieFel View Post
    Thanks for that comment, as I couldn't find any text about this being necessary.
    It's normal, because the snapshot is a backup function not a transfer function.

    This is another reason to use a script with this function (not directly with putty or ServerQuery window).
    Last edited by florian_fr40; January 9th, 2011 at 06:00 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    27
    Thanks for the offer, but I think I understand now what the problem was.

    It had indeed something to do with encoding and characters, the editor I used (or, for that matter, any editor) changed some encoding settings so that characters mismatched with the stuff then pasted into PuTTY. The problem didn't occur with the "clean" virtualserver because there were no special characters included.

    I got it fixed though and was able to transfer the virtualserver just now. Working like a charm.

    Still think that that video would be quite helpful to other people and me included if I ever need to to it again the "proper way".

    Thanks for the support.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310
    Quote Originally Posted by eViLsTieFel
    I got it fixed though and was able to transfer the virtualserver just now. Working like a charm.
    Good news

  9. #9
    Join Date
    November 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    42
    would you might care to tell us the right encoding needed for this?

    because I think I have the same problems with special characters

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310
    @rindorbrot

    Info :
    Teamspeak use the UTF-8 coding.
    To avoid problems, use tools like notepadd++ if you copy and paste the server answer.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    November 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    42
    that's exactly what i'm doing

    I use notepad++ with UTF-8

    but it still doesn't work to deploy a snapshot.
    I still get the invalid parameter error

    Is there any way to see which parameter is wrong?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    27
    Sorry for my "useless" solution report. What I ended, because I couldn't figure out proper encoding settings (and, weirdly enough, Notepad++ crashed when trying to open the document of the dump, as did Notepad2) was that I used psychos script and then copied text files from server a to server b, using the script again on the other server to update.

    I have no idea as to why the characters would get mixed up, even when I explicitly saved the file edited in notepad (which could open it fine without crashing) in UTF-8.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310
    Remember that this query command is for use in a script (best solution)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 2nd, 2014, 08:32 PM
  2. serversnapshotdeploy -> invalid parameter
    By govenka in forum Server Support
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: September 23rd, 2011, 09:56 AM
  3. [RESOLVED] serversnapshotdeploy does not work
    By krackle in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 22nd, 2010, 06:55 PM
  4. serversnapshotcreate serversnapshotdeploy unusable
    By HellMind in forum Server Support
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: September 3rd, 2010, 09:58 AM
  5. Serversnapshotdeploy dosn't work
    By kuemmelkuh in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 27th, 2010, 01:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •