Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    St.Petersburg, Russia
    Posts
    137

    Solved Win7, UAC and update.exe

    I was running WinXP under user account before yesterday and had no problems with TS3. Updating was smooth, never asked for admin rights, never failed, etc. Under Win7 the application itself starts and works fine, but update.exe asks for admin rights and fails to start if admin access not provided. So, my question is:

    Why the heck it wants admin rights?!

    It has write access to TS3 folder, it has all it needs to update application, yet it asks for admin rights and fails silently if rejected. Hell, this drives me mad! I even tried to use a trick to avoid it via setting set __COMPAT_LAYER variable to "RunAsInvoker" and running update.exe from cmd. I can run regedit, and many other things that usually ask for admin rights this way and they work perfectly, but not update.exe. For some reason it just insists to have admin rights.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    St.Petersburg, Russia
    Posts
    137
    Oh, and you know what? I just shift-clicked executable, selected "run as different user", typed "guest", and wow, it worked. Updating successful. No admin rights needed.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    June 2003
    Posts
    274
    Where is TS3 installed in the W7 system?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    St.Petersburg, Russia
    Posts
    137
    In my case, it is installed in D:\tools\TeamSpeak3 folder.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    April 2004
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    93
    default is either C:/program files/teamspeak or C:/program files(x86)/teamspeak

  6. #6
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    St.Petersburg, Russia
    Posts
    137
    That doesn't mean I cannot install it somewhere else, right? Also, the whole topic is not about where to install TS3, but about incorrect update.exe behaviour.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    June 2003
    Posts
    274
    No that's fine. IIRC when the UAC setup was done on the updater back in alpha it was geared towards making sure the exe could work in the Program Files directory (admin required) and it should fall back gracefully if it's in a directory other than that which doesn't require it.

    Is this 32 or 64 bit?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    St.Petersburg, Russia
    Posts
    137
    Well, obviously, it doesn't fall back correctly. It's 32-bit.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    St.Petersburg, Russia
    Posts
    137
    Is it going to be fixed?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,506
    What i read here, does not sound like any bug.
    If this is a bugreport, then it needs to be moved into our bug section.

    The default directory is "C:\Program Files" and this folder needs admin rights tho write any content. I have no idea, why you reject the updater, when you wan't to run an update.


    I send this post to a developer, but in my opinion it works as intended.

    Edit
    Maybe this is fixable, with a testfile, to check for acces on your custom installation path. A ticket for this has been added into our bugtracker.
    TS-377
    Last edited by dante696; February 2nd, 2011 at 10:55 AM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    St.Petersburg, Russia
    Posts
    137
    In my opinion, a program MUST NOT require administrator rights, when it does not really need them. Also, because I know it does not require any administrator rights, I'm not allowing it to have them, to keep my system clean and healthy.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    June 2002
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    I think you have a point. We will try to fix this

  13. #13
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    St.Petersburg, Russia
    Posts
    137
    Thank you!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    St.Petersburg, Russia
    Posts
    137
    3.0 released and it's still on todo...

  15. #15
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,506
    This has been moved to 3.1
    It's nothing, that stops the functionality for TS.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: December 13th, 2015, 02:24 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 8th, 2012, 01:22 PM
  3. Win7, UAC and update.exe
    By shadow_lmd in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: February 2nd, 2011, 10:27 AM
  4. TS3 Under win7 64 X-Fi
    By Rageman in forum Windows
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 2nd, 2010, 05:47 PM
  5. win7 + ts problem
    By ozeki in forum Windows
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: June 15th, 2010, 01:31 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •