Forum

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    April 2010
    Location
    Seattle Wa
    Posts
    17

    Solved Request hot Key for changing channel and or sub channels

    Request hot Key option for changing channels and or Sub channel’s while in game. I hope to host team speak servers for my 2 Game servers IL2 Sturmovik 1946. I have set up Channels for 2 Fighter Wings with 4 sub channels each and one channel for a Bomber Flight with 4 sub channels. What I would like is an option for switching between sub channels using hot key similar to changing frequencies on a two-way radio. Is this already possible? Or can this be an option in the future up grades.

    Thanks comments and questions are welcome
    114th_Fighters

  2. #2
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    50
    This should be possible under Settings < Options < Hotkeys. Click "Show Advanced Actions" and look under "Switch to Channel"

    Hopefully that helps!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    April 2010
    Location
    Seattle Wa
    Posts
    17
    Thanks }SoC{ Lazer I was able to map the Hot keys But it only seems to wark if the TS3 client is on top. I need to test it in game
    I wounder ho hard it would be to Map a hot key for each room or sub channel. Thanks again for your suggestion

    114th Fighters

  4. #4
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    50
    No problem! That is strange, even if the TS3 Client isn't on top, it should do the action anyways. At least in my experience it does.

    As for each room or subchannel, I would advise against that. Instead, create a hotkey to go to Next and Previous channel, and enable TTS (Text to Speech) and just switch channels that way. That way you don't have to have a ton of hotkeys, but can still easily access all of your channels. The only problem with this is the possiblity of flooding the server.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    April 2010
    Location
    Seattle Wa
    Posts
    17
    Excelent suggestion
    That worked }SoC{Lazer the only problem I had was going into other channels But I can fix that with passwords. Red flight and Blu flight channels have deferent Passwords and changing the sub channels to Red flight Bombers and red flight Fighters and escort using no passwords. Text to speech let me know what channel I was in. what I had the problem with was the function did not work un less the TS client window was on top pf my other windows apps. I still have to test it with the flight sim. Hope it works. This should allow the Bombers and fighters to free chat Plus allow coms between the Bombers and fighters when needed.

    Thanks

    114th Fighters

  6. #6
    Join Date
    April 2010
    Location
    Seattle Wa
    Posts
    17
    My idea is to be able to lock players into a room and still change channels like changing channels on a CB radio and not infringe on the apposing teams communication.
    I set up four channels with four sub-channels for each supporting role IE fighter, bomber, bomber escort and ground support. Pass wording the Channel did not apply to the sub channels. Is there away to lock the sub-channels unless entering the pass worded channels?
    My only other option would be to create more servers one for each team. But seems to be over my head at this time.

    Also when I tested in game I was un-able to change channels. Is there a way to map key commands to deferent channels while in game. Or even change channels while in game with out going back to the desktop? Something like T.A.R.s for DCS series plug in?


    114th Fiighters

  7. #7
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,151
    What hotkeys have you set to change the channel and what keys did you use? They should work on the same way, as you can use them on your desktop.

    Channels with password will be skipped, you won't get that dialog, while you are ingame. We decieded that a long time ago.

    You can create a group called Priosn > http://forum.teamspeak.com/showthrea...ghlight=prison
    Or
    a channel group with higher join power. Now you need to set a high needed join power on your channels. Now assign this group to all members of this channel.

    Only they should be able to join that channel.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    April 2010
    Location
    Seattle Wa
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    What hotkeys have you set to change the channel and what keys did you use? They should work on the same way, as you can use them on your desktop.

    Channels with password will be skipped, you won't get that dialog, while you are ingame. We decieded that a long time ago.

    You can create a group called Priosn > http://forum.teamspeak.com/showthrea...ghlight=prison
    Or
    a channel group with higher join power. Now you need to set a high needed join power on your channels. Now assign this group to all members of this channel.

    Only they should be able to join that channel.


    The up and down arrow keys then select enter to move through channels seem to be mapped by default. I looked through the forums and found this >>Using password 123321 for the first channel and 321 for the sub channels then enter the password 321 and enter each sub channel players can move through the sub channels freely with out having to re enter the password worked. Changing the other channel and sub channel passwords locks these channels in effect creating a prison. To set up a group would be difficult as the users may change frequently and would need to be added as they join.

    Moving through these channels and sub channels while in game is the trick. When tested players could not change channels or sub channels while in game. Players had to pause the game to switch channels.

    Thank you for your interest and suggestions
    114th Fighters
    Last edited by 114th_Fighters; February 2nd, 2011 at 07:01 AM. Reason: Solved

  9. #9
    Join Date
    April 2010
    Location
    Seattle Wa
    Posts
    17

    Resolved

    Coms set up for TS 3 dedicated team Rooms and sub channels
    Changing Sub Cannels while in game set up. This is done at client end before entering the game.

    Select settings then options
    Select Hot keys
    Select add (under profile Details)
    Select Show advanced Options
    Open “switch to Channel drop down”
    Open “switch to channel drop down” again
    Select sub channel you want to assign the hot key to
    Select Current server
    Select “No Hot key assigned” Box and select Hot key (I used F1 through F4)
    Use a keystroke not already mapped or used in game
    Click OK to save the key
    Repeat for all Sub Channels in the room

    When finished you will be able to change rooms like changing frequency’s on a two way radio Just be sure other team mates use the same room
    Passwords in sub-channels only need to be entered once to gain free access
    This is done at the client end so can be applied to any server. Have fun and enjoy this option

    (Optional)
    Go to settings in the team speak Tool bar select options Notifications and select Text to speech.

    When tested in game players where able to change sub channels using Hot Keys

    Thank you again for all your suggestions and Help
    And to the developers of Team Speak for such an awesome program

    114th Fighters

  10. #10
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,151
    }SoC{ Lazer already said that in post #2

  11. #11
    Join Date
    April 2010
    Location
    Seattle Wa
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    }SoC{ Lazer already said that in post #2

    My apology He did suggest the proper path

    114th Fighters
    Last edited by 114th_Fighters; February 3rd, 2011 at 07:14 PM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 3rd, 2011, 05:28 PM
  2. Changing Channel Type with Sub-Channels
    By Madmatthi in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 19th, 2011, 12:53 AM
  3. [Resolved] Request hot Key for changing channel and or sub channels
    By 114th_Fighters in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: February 2nd, 2011, 08:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •