Forum

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    March 2011
    Posts
    11

    Failed to connect to server on 10.6.7

    I've been using TS3 client beta 36 on OSX 10.6.6 and all was well with the world. Then 10.6.7 dropped and now... Failed to connect to server. I can't connect to either my guild TS server or voice.teamspeak.com:9987.

    Other than the installation of the OS update, nothing has changed, so I'm somewhat at a loss. I can ping both servers. A traceroute shows latency isn't bad.

    Anyone have troubleshooting suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,251
    Have you tried, to connect to the ip instead the dns address?
    Last edited by dante696; March 25th, 2011 at 03:41 PM.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    March 2011
    Posts
    11
    I have, but with the same result. I guess I should also mention that there are no obvious error messages in the log, only the failure message in the client, so I don't have a lot to go on...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,251
    And there is no firewall rule activated for the client? I never used a Mac :-/ sorry
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    March 2011
    Posts
    11
    Correct, no firewall rules active.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    March 2011
    Posts
    11
    I tried installing 10.6.7 from the combo update instead of Software Update and I repaired disk permissions, but with no success. There are no errors in system.log and no changes in the TS client log info from TS3 between when it worked and when it did not.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    March 2011
    Posts
    11
    I'm beginning to suspect that the OS update was coincidental and that the root of the issue is my ISP blocking client-required ports. I'll follow-up if I get anywhere with them.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    March 2011
    Posts
    11
    Yup. Filtered.

    Host is up (0.086s latency).
    PORT STATE SERVICE
    9987/udp open|filtered unknown

    Good times. Now if only I could find someone at my ISP support who understands networking enough to help.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    March 2011
    Posts
    11
    So... ISP claims no ports are filtered. Admittedly, a UDP traceroute gets all the way to the destination IP, so the nmap result might just be the TS server not replying to the UDP ping. TCP ServerQuery port returns open when scanned by nmap. Unfortunately, I've exhausted my limited network troubleshooting expertise... any suggestions? Is there a way to get the client to display socket-level debugging information? It would be helpful to know exactly what 'Failed to connect to server' means in the context of TS.

    Client log contains only the following:

    2011-03-29 21:20:13.339282 Info Logging started, clientlib version: 3.0.0-beta36 [Build: 12815]
    2011-03-29 21:20:13.489342 Query Info listening on 127.0.0.1:25639
    2011-03-29 21:20:14.338390 ClientUI Info TeamSpeak 3 client version: 3.0.0-beta36 [Build: 12815]
    2011-03-29 21:20:14.338576 ClientUI Info Qt version: 4.6.2
    2011-03-29 21:20:14.338664 ClientUI Info Using configuration location: /Users/<user>/.ts3client/ts3clientui_qt.conf
    2011-03-29 21:20:14.498317 ClientUI Info Last update check was: Tue Mar 29 20:51:53 2011

    Can the logging threshold be set to Debug instead of Info?
    Last edited by particleman; March 30th, 2011 at 04:22 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    January 2009
    Location
    Kamloops BC Canada
    Posts
    9
    Hey Dante, I've changed the default port on the server to the same as one that he's using for a ventrilo server and he still can't get connected. I then thought it might be due to the encryption of the Teamspeak voice chat, figured his ISP might be dropping encrypted packets. Turned it off Globally on the server and he still can't connect.

    Anyone else got any ideas on this?

    Thanks

    Mike

  11. #11
    Join Date
    January 2009
    Location
    Kamloops BC Canada
    Posts
    9
    It looks as though his ISP is dropping the teamspeak packets. I set up a server on my mac at home and he wasn't able to connect to that either. Hopefully he'll be able to get some more info from his ISP about this issue.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,251
    Thank you Michael, for helping him!
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    January 2009
    Location
    Kamloops BC Canada
    Posts
    9
    Anytime, it's my TS server he's trying to connect to, so figured I would make sure that it's nothing on my end of things that is causing the issue.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    March 2011
    Posts
    11
    According to the Glasnost test, there is no indication that charter is shaping my internet traffic, at least for BitTorrent/TCP. There was some concern that TS packets might be getting filtered by a BT filter. Results link below. Glasnost does not support testing UDP.

    http://loki10.mpi-sws.mpg.de//bb//gl...84&details=yes

  15. #15
    Join Date
    April 2011
    Posts
    2
    Sorry to hop onto an existing thread, but this looks exactly like the problem I'm having...

    I'm running TS3 Client 3.0.0-beta36 [Build 12815] on Mac OS X 10.6.7 and since about two weeks the connection suddenly stopped working. The only change to my system was the Upgrade to 10.6.7 roughly at that time, but I am not sure if that was on the same day.

    Since the problem started, I can't connect to my guilds TS3 server, nor the public one.

    <00:14:52> Trying to resolve hostname voice.teamspeak.com
    <00:14:52> Trying to connect to server on voice.teamspeak.com:9987
    <00:14:59> Failed to connect to server

    My guilds TS3 server has only an IP, so it can't be a DNS problem. Also the error message should be different then I guess...

    The firewall on my Mac is disabled.

    I tried via two different routers, attached to two different DSL ISPs (my private line and my line from work), I even tried via UMTS tethering connection via my cellphone and via an open WLAN of a neighbor, and none of that worked. So I am pretty sure it is not a problem with the router or the ISP...

    Is there any way to increase the debugging of the client to get a better error message?

    I can't play with my friends without TS3, so this sucks...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 1st, 2015, 12:06 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 20th, 2015, 12:09 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 6th, 2015, 02:16 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 3rd, 2015, 08:41 PM
  5. Replies: 12
    Last Post: September 1st, 2014, 06:20 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •