Forum

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2

    Solved start TSDNS permantly in Linux

    Hello,
    I have started TSDNS under Linux from Putty and it works fine, but when iīm closing Putty
    the tsdns stopped.

    I wanna use it permanently and donīt know how

    Can anybody help me please...

    Sorry about my bad english

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,794
    on my linux vps I'm using screen

    in the window type "screen" press enter
    then start the tsdns
    now press CTRL+A, D to detach the screen

    You really don't need to use screen again, you can edit and update the settings.ini and just run tsdns with the "--update" parameter and it will cause the already running instance in screen to update.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310
    New sh script to start the TSDNS server (without screen, nohup, etc)

    - Be sure that this file has the exe perm (chmod 744 tsdns_startscript.sh)
    - Usage like ts3server_startscript.sh
    Code:
    {start|stop|restart|status|update}
    After write new (or change) address in the settings file use :
    ./tsdns_startscript.sh update
    UPDATE
    Fixed output messgae
    Fixed useless dos character
    Fixed update function
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by florian_fr40; August 13th, 2011 at 03:48 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    The startscript works very nice

    thank you very much for your help

  5. #5
    Join Date
    September 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    12
    Could be easily done with crontab.


    Login as the user you wish to run it the binary as, and use the following command:

    Code:
    # crontab -e
    In the crontab editor add a line like this:

    Code:
    @reboot path/to/teamspeak/tsdns/./tsdns_server_x86
    OR (depending on architecture)

    Code:
    @reboot path/to/teamspeak/tsdns/./tsdns_server_amd64
    This will work with most distros. This will start the TSDNS server on boot eliminating the need to SSH into the server and start it manually, you will still be able to run the --update parameter manually.

    Same can be done for the TeamSpeak server to start it on boot:

    Code:
    @reboot /path/to/teamspeak/./ts3server_startscript.sh start
    Just modify the paths accordingly, and add the cron entry as the user you normally run TS3 or TSDNS under (ideally not root).

    EDIT ---

    I read the post again and realised this isn't quite what you need, but this method will work on future occasions (i.e. after reboot).
    Last edited by Broughton; May 18th, 2011 at 01:46 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    September 2010
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    2
    Thanks florian_fr40 for the script, it works fine for me.
    But I had to run dos2unix because there were some "\r" in the first line and the system couldn't find the interpreter.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310
    Quote Originally Posted by Margash View Post
    Thanks florian_fr40 for the script, it works fine for me.
    But I had to run dos2unix because there were some "\r" in the first line and the system couldn't find the interpreter.
    Thank's for this report.
    I'll fix it this morning
    Last edited by florian_fr40; June 29th, 2011 at 08:27 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    10
    thanks for the start script

  9. #9
    Join Date
    July 2011
    Posts
    13
    When I run the command I get:

    sh-4.1$ ./tsdns_startscript.sh start
    sh: ./tsdns_startscript.sh: /bin/sh^M: bad interpreter: No such file or directory


    My directory is /var/www/teamspeak3-server_linux_x86/tsdns/

    -rw-rw-rw-. 1 ts3 ts3 2722 Aug 9 04:38 README
    -rwxrwxrwx. 1 ts3 ts3 331671 Aug 9 04:38 tsdnsserver_linux_x86
    -rw-r--r--. 1 ts3 ts3 94 Aug 12 21:00 tsdns_settings.ini
    -rw-rw-rw-. 1 ts3 ts3 1471 Aug 9 04:38 tsdns_settings.ini.sample
    -rwxrwxrwx. 1 ts3 ts3 3035 Aug 12 21:09 tsdns_startscript.sh
    -rw-rw-rw-. 1 ts3 ts3 2561 Aug 9 04:38 USAGE

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310
    Strange normaly this problem was fixed (it was due to a windows char when I uploaded it).
    In a doubt I use dos2unix and re upload the script.

    You also use this command (dos2unix source)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,794
    Edit line 98:

    From
    Code:
    echo "No TSDNS server running (ts3server.pid is missing)"
    To
    Code:
    echo "No TSDNS server running (tsdnsserver.pid is missing)"

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310
    Thank's for this report.
    Fixed

  13. #13
    Join Date
    July 2009
    Posts
    38
    Thanks for the script but it doesn't work on debian squeezy.
    The Script is directly in the tsdns dir but I get the following errors:

    Code:
    ./tsdns_startscript.sh: 4: elif: not found
    ./tsdns_startscript.sh: 5: elif: not found
    ./tsdns_startscript.sh: 6: elif: not found
    ./tsdns_startscript.sh: 7: else: not found
    Could not locate binary file, aborting
    If I try to make a linebrak at the first if, the following error occours:

    Code:
    ./tsdns_startscript.sh: 5: Syntax error: "then" unexpected (expecting "fi")
    Please solve this problem fast because the system can't do such errors so it must be the script.

    Regards

    Chaos234

  14. #14
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    17,939
    There is no start script in our official packages.
    ./tsdnsserver_linux_amd64 or ./tsdnsserver_linux_x86 starts the tsdns server.

    Code:
    [email protected]:~/Downloads/server 3.0.6.1/tsdsns$ ./tsdnsserver_linux_x86
    Scanned tsdns_settings.ini, number of entries: 12
    ----------
    "Could not locate binary file, aborting" < This tells you that there is no file with that name.
    Maybe you just placed it in the wrong directory?
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    July 2009
    Posts
    38
    @dante696:

    The problem is, that your cmd only work fine, if the shell is still open. But if you close the shell after this cmd, tsdnsserver will be shuting down.

    The script should solve this problem, so that the tsdns-server runs into the background because the programmer of this script has forgotten to add the functions of start|stop|restart (or update)|status.

    So please add it to the todo-list for the next update, to make it possible, that tsdns runs in the background, after the cmd in the shell or make a script like these scripts for the ts-server.

    (I hope you can understand, what I'll try to tell you, because my english isn't the best ^^.)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [TSDNS] Start, Stop, Port changeable,..?
    By Sebi94 in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 12th, 2013, 06:35 PM
  2. TSDNS Start problem
    By tabyret in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 30th, 2012, 02:50 PM
  3. Banned Permantly For No Reason!? [Help]
    By The13thRonin in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 13th, 2011, 05:13 PM
  4. linux TSDNS to accept config file path
    By uri_ba in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 31st, 2011, 11:06 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 22nd, 2009, 07:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •