Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3

    Solved Official TeamSpeak 3 In-Game Overlay

    Greetings.
    This suggestion has probably been suggested already, or not, but I'm going to elaborate a complete topic about it.

    It would be nice to have an in-game overlay officialy created by TS3 so that there would be no problems at all with extra addons and plugins.
    I bet many people are familiarized with Mumble's ingame overlay and even some people move there just because of the overlay. That can be easily avoided if you create this Ingame Overlay.
    At the moment theres a plugin that does this job called Project TINT. It stopped working now because of the new TS3 update, but it's a bit limited and has a few bugs.


    Table of contents for TS3 Ingame Overlay:

    1. You can change the font to whatever you like, using WINDOWS/Fonts path, so that you can install extra fonts and use them.

    2. You can configure anything about the overlay, like its position, each category text colors, text messages such as if you see who enters and exits, or just toggle that text off. Toggle to appear the player names on the TS3 server only if they speak, or toggle it to appear everyone on the server even if they dont speak.

    To configure the colors, you'd have these states:

    Whos speaking at the moment.
    Whos not speaking but is on the channel.
    Server name.
    Channel name.
    Who enters/exits/times out.

    Heres an example from Project TINT with a modded font:
    http://www.imagebanana.com/view/v1hpfbc7/ts3overlay.PNG

    As you can see, the one speaking has a brighter color, and the one whos not speaking has a darker color.
    Those who enter or exit the channel, smoothly disapear from the list (green names) with either a fade-in or fade-out effect. (would be cool to have this as well).

    TS3 Overlay must work with DirectX 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11 applications. Also if OpenGL is supported would be cool.


    Probably you're going to ask this: "Why don't you use Project TINT then instead of suggesting this?"
    Because as I refered, it contains a few bugs, the text colors can't be changed, it's a plugin so whenever TS3 updates we have to wait for the plugin developer to also adapt his plugin, etc.

    One thing that really should take into consideration is that we should be able to configurate the ingame overlay as widely as possible, so it can satisfy everyone's likes.


    Kind Regards,
    Diablosrouge

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1
    This is funny, I actually was thinking the same today... :P
    @TS.com -> Yes, please... Add this.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    June 2002
    Location
    Krün / Germany
    Posts
    1,638
    actually this is really funny since rc1 does include an overlay...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3
    Where can I find that overlay? Been browsing up and down and couldn't put anything working.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,513
    Update your client to RC1 and it should be enabeld on default.
    You can enable it under Settings > Plugins
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    June 2002
    Location
    Krün / Germany
    Posts
    1,638
    it should be not enabled by default! if so, its a bug!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3
    Yea I had to enable it. I've tried that overlay before TINT, it's kinda poor :-\ i'd suggest you guys to make Project TINT overlay the default plugin then :P (as you can see on the screenshot above).
    Only problem is that it keeps updating :P
    Last edited by Diablosrouge; May 16th, 2011 at 09:19 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    June 2002
    Location
    Krün / Germany
    Posts
    1,638
    you dont have to use it...

    Quote Originally Posted by Diablosrouge View Post
    Yea I had to enable it. I've tried that overlay before TINT, it's kinda poor :-\ i'd suggest you guys to make Project TINT overlay the default plugin then :P (as you can see on the screenshot above).
    Only problem is that it keeps updating :P

  9. #9
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Posts
    2

    Ingame Overlay dx9 vs. dx11

    When I play Shogun Total War 2, my TS3 game overlay works in the dx9 graphics mode, but it does not work when I chose dx11. Can you explain? Will there be an update for it to work over dx11 graphics?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    August 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1
    Nope doesn't work for me to bad I was really hoping it would as I prefer TS vs Mumble. BFBC2 will not even open when the TS3-RC2 is running it CTD's before the initial screen after launcher. I had the settings ini set to DX11 and the overlay addon enabled through the TS3-RC2 addon appellate. I'm running X58 GTX480 (260.99) W7Ux64 SP1 with G35 headset.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    February 2012
    Posts
    1
    I am having a problem with the overlay not letting me use the display drop down menu to hide the title bar. I am playing World of Tanks. I have tried running everything as admin nothing. I got it working once and then tried it again and it snafu'd.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 10th, 2013, 06:09 AM
  2. [On Todo] Teamspeak overlay takes control during game...WOT
    By Derweissewolf in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 4th, 2012, 10:46 AM
  3. official public teamspeak 3 what happend ?
    By hunterpl in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 22nd, 2012, 07:48 PM
  4. TeamSpeak 3 In Game Overlay
    By Mr. T in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 19th, 2010, 07:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •