Forum

Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Cool SNMP Monitoring - Orion SolarWinds

I am running net-snmp on Debian 6 (Squeeze) and am monitoring my Linux server via a remote network monitoring server running Orion/SolarWinds. I am able to monitor CPU processes and network interface details, like bandwidth utilization and the like. I am trying to find out how to track how many users are connected on the TS3 server. I am totally new to TS in general, so I have no idea how the back-end mechanics work.

Does the server spawn a new ts3server_linux_x86 process with each user that connects or should I be looking at connections on the network interface or what is a clever way to go about monitoring this?

Most other solutions I've seen were tailor made to a specific NMS platform, like Munin/Cacti/Nagios, so I'm looking for more broad, general info on what conditions change when users connect that I might be able to monitor.

Thanks for any help and feel free to point me to a page of documentation or forum post that answers my question if I didn't search hard enough

Code:
    #!/bin/sh

clientsonline=`(echo use 1; echo serverinfo; echo quit) | nc localhost 10011 | tr ' ' '\n' |grep virtualserver_clientsonline| awk -F = '{ print $2 }'`
    queryclientsonline=`(echo use 1; echo serverinfo; echo quit) | nc localhost 10011 | tr ' ' '\n' |grep virtualserver_queryclientsonline| awk -F = '{ print $2 }'`

clients=$(($clientsonline - $queryclientsonline))
    echo $clients
    (echo use 1; echo serverinfo; echo quit) | nc localhost 10011 | tr ' ' '\n' |grep virtualserver_maxclients| awk -F = '{ print $2 }'
    that's the script i use to gather information on current clients on a specific virtualserver (#1 in this case) i use mrtg to invoke this script and monitor client count over time

specifics:
    clientsonline is the number of ALL clients connected