Forum

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Posts
    3

    TS3 causes sound drivers to fail

    I've yet to determine how it's actually doing this. Leaving TS3 running at the same time as any other program that plays sound, regardless of whether anyone else is in the channel, will eventually cause sound on the whole system to stop working. Sometimes it happens after a few minutes, sometimes it takes two hours, but eventually I always hear a pop and everything goes dead.

    Another curiosity is that video in a media player (this happens on both Windows Media Player and YouTube) will continue to play but very, very slowly. Sound files, likewise, scroll through slowly but obviously I don't hear anything. I've been updating audio drivers religiously in the hope this gets fixed, but considering this only ever happens with TS3 running, that might just be wishful thinking.

    I'm running Windows 7 64-bit on a Intel BOXDP55WB motherboard running Realtek HD audio codec v2.61 - just about to update to 2.62 which came out today and see if that might solve the problem. System has 8 GB of RAM.

    I've tried TS3 in 64-bit and 32-bit, both have the same problem. Tried reinstalling TS3, no change. Tried restarting sound drivers after they fail, that didn't work either. The only way I can get sound back is to reboot the system, but I have no guarantee that my sound will die at a convenient time for a reboot.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Posts
    3
    Sound driver update made no difference, ran a RAM test and there were no errors there.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Posts
    1
    Friend of mine has the exact same problem, hence bumping for fix

  4. #4
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Posts
    3
    I tried a BIOS update from the motherboard manufacturer (Intel) and so far haven't had any more problems. Why that would make a difference I'm not sure, but a fix is a fix. I'll post an update if it happens again.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Posts
    1
    I had this same problem for a while, and seems to indeed be something with sound drivers. Before connecting next time, head to options->playback and set playback mode to direct sound, and your playback device to what it is. Do the same for capture. This fixed mine up and now appears to be working.

    Hope it helps

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. TS3 Causes Sound Drivers To Fail
    By PsychoBunny in forum Windows
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 10th, 2014, 08:14 PM
  2. [No Bug] Unable to Use 2 Sound Drivers at Once (VIA HD)
    By ZeroTKA in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: March 10th, 2011, 01:59 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •