Forum

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    July 2010
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    9

    How to point the ip to subdomain

    Hi, i have the next question, why I can point ts3.xxx.com to my teamspeak server whitout using a diferent port, for connect to ts3.xxx.com and not ts3.xxx.com:9987

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,800
    Quote Originally Posted by cristian View Post
    Hi, i have the next question, why I can point ts3.xxx.com to my teamspeak server whitout using a diferent port, for connect to ts3.xxx.com and not ts3.xxx.com:9987
    Because 9987 is the default port. If no port is defined in the address the default assumed.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    80
    Everything in front of ":" will point to an IP-Adress, the port will just tell which virtual server.
    So if your server is on the default port "9987", you don't need the port, teamspeak will auto-try this port, if no port is given.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    July 2010
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    9
    I have cpanel x and need to point ts.midomain.com to mi ip.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310
    So, it's simple, go to the DNS Records off your domains and create a new records (A).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,800
    Or start up a TSDNS server at midomain.com and have and entry in there for ts.midomain.com. Clients running RC1 and later will connect faster using the TSDNS method than updating the DNS with a new A record. RC1 and later try using TSDNS first, if that request timesout it will fallback to classic DNS lookup. In the tsdns_settings.ini have a line like "ts.midomain.com=[mi ip]:[server port]" TSDNS can run on a server apart from the TS3 server.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help with subdomain for ts3
    By onetop in forum Server Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 25th, 2012, 12:20 PM
  2. Set up TS with a subdomain
    By fasterthanlight in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 4th, 2012, 08:58 PM
  3. Resize IP TS to subdomain
    By Crazypsico in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 26th, 2010, 10:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •