Forum

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    January 2011
    Location
    US
    Posts
    260

    Post Mac Specific FAQ

    So I have seen lots of repetitive questions in this section. I have also noticed the FAQ doesn't have much Mac specific details. Therefore, I have put part of the README section of my server here so hopefully people won't ask the same questions again.
    P.S.: Please credit the answers to the appropriate mages before me xD

    Q: How do I install Teamspeak 3 on a Mac?
    A:
    Step 1: Download the .dmg file from this website.(Shortcut)
    Step 2: Double click the .dmg file. Then drag the "Teamspeak" icon to the Applications folder.
    Step 3: Eject the teamspeak image from Finder. Do not run the teamspeak from .dmg folder unless you're just testing how it works. Instead, go to Applications-->Teamspeak 3 Client.
    (If the icon doesn't show up correctly in Snow Leopard or earlier versions, you can hold option key and right click on the finder, and click "Relaunch".)

    Q: Hotkey is not working!
    This is because the OSX's keylogger prevention mechanism is doing the work. Solutions:
    1. Use "shifting keys" such as command, alt, control, shift. These keys will still work under this condition.
    OR
    2. [Not recommended] System Preferences --> Universal Access --> check "Enable access for assistive devices" The hotkeys will work again. But keyloggers will work too!

    Q: Other people reported all they hear from me are noise or crispy fragments (sometimes it is called "robotic voice" ). (or All I hear from others are crispy fragments)
    Utilites --> Audio MIDI setup. On the left pane, select "Built-In Input", then in "Format" section, select an option somewhere in 16000.0Hz-48000.0Hz. TS3 does not support higher frequencies than 48000.0Hz!
    While you are at it, make sure to check "Built-In Output" as well.

    Q: How do I uninstall Teamspeak 3 from my Mac?
    A: If you want to preserve your configurations, simply drag the Teamspeak 3 Client to trash can. If you want to delete all configurations, follow the procedures below.

    Step 1: Go to Terminal (It's in the Utilities Folder, or you can search it from spotlight).
    WARNING: You will lose all identities if you follow the following procedure. If you have privileges of some servers, you should probably export identities before proceeding

    Step 2: Enter commands
    Older Versions:
    Code:
    rm -R ~/.ts3client #If multiple users use ts3, do this for every home folder of users that uses ts3.
    sudo rm "/Applications/Teamspeak 3 Client.app" #Enter admin password after that
    
    rm ~/Library/Preferences/com.teamspeak.* #If multiple users use ts3, do this for every home folder of users that uses ts3.
    Newer Versions:
    Code:
    rm -R ~/Library/Application\ Support/TeamSpeak\ 3/
    Q: I do not see Settings --> Options.
    A: It's located in Teamspeak 3 --> Preferences instead.

    Q: Where are my profiles, chat logs, and client logs?
    A: It's located in ~/.ts3client (The absolute path is /Users/[your_user_name]/.ts3client) Note that the folder is Hidden. If you don't want to navigate it using Terminal, go to Finder, and select Go --> Go to Folder... and enter the full path /Users/[user_name]/.ts3client

    Note: Newer versions uses the folder
    Code:
    ~/Library/Application\ Support/TeamSpeak\ 3/
    instead. Note"\ " means space (shell escaped for bash)
    Last edited by copper; August 6th, 2012 at 08:38 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    17,709

    Thumbs up Very usefull

    This thread is sticky and very usefull for some users.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    December 2011
    Posts
    6

    Exclamation De install Teamspeak on a mac

    How can i re install my Teamspeak on my Mac?

    *** Thread Merged ***
    Last edited by florian_fr40; January 25th, 2012 at 10:21 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    January 2011
    Location
    US
    Posts
    260
    Quote Originally Posted by Koladrink View Post
    How can i re install my Teamspeak on my Mac?

    *** Thread Merged ***
    You can still follow the instruction to uninstall, then put another Teamspeak app into the Applications folder again.

    If you want to keep your identities and preferences, drag your old ts to the trash can and put the new one in would suffice. Most of the time the auto-updater is working correctly so you don't need to do that manually when a new version comes out. Though I did experience auto-updater crashes previously, they are too erratic to write a report about in this forum.

    P.S.: I haven't seen a server-based plugin (not counting bots). Which plugin do you want to install?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    October 2013
    Posts
    2
    If you are running OS X Mavericks, the procedure for getting hotkeys to work globally has changed.

    Run TeamSpeak.

    Go to System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Privacy > Accessibility

    Unlock the padlock to make changes, and check TeamSpeak 3 Client.app in the list of apps that can control your computer.

    Once you have done this, you will be able to use your hotkey globally.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by MadOverlord View Post
    If you are running OS X Mavericks, the procedure for getting hotkeys to work globally has changed.

    Run TeamSpeak.

    Go to System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Privacy > Accessibility

    Unlock the padlock to make changes, and check TeamSpeak 3 Client.app in the list of apps that can control your computer.

    Once you have done this, you will be able to use your hotkey globally.
    I've done this, but my hotkey still doesn't work unless the TS3 windows is focused.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    December 2013
    Posts
    1
    You need to change your hotkey to one of the following, to get around the Mac's anti-tampering (not the right term) protection: I think they are:

    command (what I'm using)
    option
    control
    shift (?)

    I can no longer find the documentation making a reference to this, but it worked for me.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    August 2015
    Posts
    4
    Perhaps some information about installing client side plug-ins on OS X may be very helpful in the FAQ.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Resolved] Specific group required to join specific channel
    By BatelGeuce in forum Permission System
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: January 11th, 2016, 08:52 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 14th, 2014, 06:31 PM
  3. Granting Talk Power in specific Channels. Need Specific Access.
    By zangetsuslayer in forum Permission System
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 2nd, 2014, 08:36 AM
  4. Ignore Password for a specific Channel for a specific Group
    By Nakorson in forum Permission System
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 25th, 2010, 02:35 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •