Forum

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 33
  1. #1
    Join Date
    September 2011
    Posts
    4

    Solved Custom Hostname forwarding through Godaddy

    I got a domain through Godaddy and would like to use ts.mysite.com as my TS server address.

    I created an A name (ts) and had input the server ip xx.xx.xx.xxx

    That IP however only brings me to the server page. For it to work, I need it specifically to forward to xx.xx.xx.xxx:1234, however Godaddy will not accept it with the :1234 at the end.

    In TS, ts.mysite.com:1234 WILL work, however I dont want that :1234 at the end, I just want it to be ts.mysite.com

    My question is, how do I have Godaddy forward to that IP with the port number at the end?

    I tried searching, but could not get the right solution. I just got that domain specifically for TS.

    I have no experience with domains etc so I'm not sure if my search word/query is correct of I am searching the right question.

    Please help. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,794
    Do you host your server or do you rent it?

    If you host it the answer is easy, start a TSDNS server at ts.mysite.com with an entry like this:
    Code:
    ts.mysite.com=xx.xx.xx.xxx:1234
    (using your examples so of course replace with valid values)

    If you rent you can try setting up a TSDNS at mysite.com that has the same info as above, this removes the need for the A host in your DNS setup at go daddy too. If you can't setup TSDNS at mysite.com you can always start the TSDNS on any PC at your house, just get a dyndns address for your house that auto updates if you home IP is dynamic like most, than add a CNAME alias for ts that points to the dyndns address. Again the tsdns_settings.ini would look like above.

    Where ever you setup TSDNS you will need to make sure that request on TCP port 41144 can reach the system hosting TSDNS.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    September 2011
    Posts
    4
    I am renting a TS server from a seperate server (Lightspeed)

    How do you set up a TSDNS at GoDaddy? I don't see it as one of the options, only A, CNAME, SRV, MX, TXT, AAAA, and NS.

    Setting up a TSDNS seems out of my house seems out of my level of expertise if this is my only option..

    By the way, mysite.com is my Godaddy domain.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    September 2011
    Posts
    4
    Just to reclarify, I made an A Name ts.mysite.com and have it forwarding to the server IP xx.xx.xx.xxx.

    On TS, it works if I put ts.mysite.com:1234 (with the port number at the end:1234)

    How do I make it so Godaddy can forward to the IP + port number. (the cursor has an error when I try to do this) so that I can just input ts.mysite.com in my TS instead of adding the port to the end of it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310
    Hello

    You can't use a TSDNS server in your case. And effectively, you can't add a port in a DNS settings.
    (You can't with just a domain account).

    But with your domain, you use this site : http://www.ts3dns.com/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    September 2011
    Posts
    4
    You dont know how greatful I am. Thank you!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,794
    Quote Originally Posted by florian_fr40 View Post
    Hello

    You can't use a TSDNS server in your case. And effectively, you can't add a port in a DNS settings.
    (You can't with just a domain account).

    But with your domain, you use this site : http://www.ts3dns.com/
    "You can't use TSDNS..." is not correct. He CAN use a TSDNS server if he wanted to learn some more networking skills and set it up at his house. Before I updated my live server I had a TSDNS running on my home network that had an entry to my live server (live server was build before TSDNS was included).

    But that is a good url to keep in mind for users. I was thinking of offering to add an entry to my TSDNS server if he was unable to setup the TSDNS himself.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6,310
    Come on Screech please.

    He can't because he has just a web hosting account (without any control to start a script).
    He just want a simple solution for his domain name. Nothing more.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,794
    But it could technically be hosted at his house so "You/He can't" is not accurate. But it is very fair to say that using that URL you posted is his easiest option.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    7

    custom ip with godaddy

    I was wondering if someone could help me? I am trying to setup a custom ip with godaddy so instead of having 87.xxx.xxx.xxx i can join my teamspeak via voice.myclanname.com who would i set this up

    thank you in advance
    Last edited by dante696; April 10th, 2015 at 08:02 AM. Reason: merged

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    7
    to add to my question im not hosting teamspeak i am renting

  12. #12
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,002
    Here we go again… (or, when you would start searching before creating a new thread?)

    _ts3._udp.myclanname.com SRV 1 10 <ts3port> ts3.myclanname.com
    ts3.myclanname.com A <ts3ipaddress>

    and use "myclanname.com" to join your TeamSpeak server.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    7
    this is how i understand it

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mE2ntqm.png 
Views:	2006 
Size:	19.2 KB 
ID:	12301 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bNdx13G.png 
Views:	2176 
Size:	28.3 KB 
ID:	12302

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    7
    does this look right?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    April 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,266
    No. it's not right. There are two IPs associated with the A record; and also the SRV record is not correct NXDOMAIN.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Resolved] Custom hostname for ts3 server.
    By brisk in forum Server Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: November 8th, 2016, 07:53 AM
  2. [Resolved] SRV Record on GoDaddy (TS3)
    By leettari in forum General Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: August 13th, 2014, 02:19 PM
  3. GoDaddy and libc.so.6
    By peach.6004 in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 22nd, 2012, 12:47 PM
  4. hosting on godaddy.com
    By CaptainHansolo in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 7th, 2011, 01:20 PM
  5. hosting on godaddy.com
    By CaptainHansolo in forum Server Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 7th, 2011, 01:20 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •