Forum

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 44
  1. #1
    Join Date
    August 2011
    Location
    California, United States
    Posts
    23

    How-To install TeamSpeak 3.0.0 Server | CentOS

    How to setup a TeamSpeak 3 Server on Linux.

    First if you don't have it already, download Putty. You can get Putty here. Save it to your desktop. Once saved go to your desktop and open it. You should get a screen that looks like this.

    *NOTE: You must have SSH access to your linux box.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	putty_main.jpg 
Views:	3584 
Size:	51.6 KB 
ID:	12681

    Once you have that fill in your linux server IP address or host name. Then click open. You should now see this screen.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	putty_connected.jpg 
Views:	3285 
Size:	22.1 KB 
ID:	12682

    Once connected you will need to provide login infomation. You will need to use the root account to create a new user. Reason for this because you should NOT run teamspeak under the root account for security reasons.

    To add a new user run the following commands. You can change the username to whatever you want. Replace the "accountnamehere" with the name of the account that you will use for teamspeak. Once you hit enter it should ask you to "Enter new UNIX password" this is where you will type in the password to the account. You will NOT see your password as you type it so make sure you spell it right so you don't have to go back and do the "passwd" command again.

    Code:
    useradd ts3srv
    passwd accountnamehere
    Once that account is made close out of that putty session and reconnect and use the login details you just created.

    To install the teamspeak server download the teamspeak 3 linux 32-bit or 64-bit depending on what your linux os is, my server for example is a 32-bit. If you are unsure go with the 32-bit. Then run this command with the new user account you made.

    **NOTE: If you chose a different username make sure you make that change to the "cd /home/ts3rv/" as well so you would replace "ts3srv" with the one you chose to both of the "cd" commands.

    ***TIP: If you chose to just use the username I provided then you can just copy the commands below and paste them into putty. To paste into putty first copy the commands below then go to your putty window and press the "right mouse" button. You don't need to hold it down.

    32-bit install
    Code:
    cd /home/ts3srv/
    wget http://teamspeak.gameserver.gamed.de/ts3/releases/3.0.11.3/teamspeak3-server_linux-x86-3.0.11.3.tar.gz
    tar xvfz teamspeak3-server_linux-x86-3.0.11.3.tar.gz
    cd /home/ts3srv/teamspeak3-server_linux-x86
    ./ts3server_startscript.sh start
    64-bit install
    Code:
    cd /home/ts3srv/
    wget http://teamspeak.gameserver.gamed.de/ts3/releases/3.0.11.3/teamspeak3-server_linux-amd64-3.0.11.3.tar.gz
    tar xvfz teamspeak3-server_linux-amd64-3.0.11.3.tar.gz
    cd /home/ts3srv/teamspeak3-server_linux-amd64
    ./ts3server_startscript.sh start
    This will download, extract, install, and run teamspeak 3 server version 3.0.11.3.

    Once your server starts up you will see it output something like this. Be sure to write your Server Query Admin Account down as it will not be shown again. An easy way to copy it would be to select it all and copy it to a text file.

    Code:
    ------------------------------------------------------------------
                          I M P O R T A N T
    ------------------------------------------------------------------
                  Server Query Admin Acccount created
             loginname= "serveradmin", password= "ostsOuyX"
    ------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    
    ------------------------------------------------------------------
                          I M P O R T A N T
    ------------------------------------------------------------------
          ServerAdmin privilege key created, please use it to gain
          serveradmin rights for your virtualserver. please
          also check the doc/privilegekey_guide.txt for details.
    
           token=A3Omx+Yy0mKtNMZ7UOa2cLbkEWyB5fwgwLcT5C+A
    ------------------------------------------------------------------



    CentOS:

    If you want to have teamspeak start-up automatically after a server restart you should add a cron job. To add the cron job run the following commands. Also make sure you're logged into the "ts3srv" account and not root!

    Code:
    crontab -e
    If you haven't used VI editor before this might be a bit tricky.

    Code:
    Press the "I" key.
    This will allow you to add text into the cronjob file. In the bottom left corner it should say (-- INSERT --)

    When it says that write this in window.

    32-bit
    Code:
    @reboot /home/ts3srv/teamspeak3-server_linux-x86/ts3server_startscript.sh start
    64-bit
    Code:
    @reboot /home/ts3srv/teamspeak3-server_linux-amd64/ts3server_startscript.sh start
    Once you write that in press the "ESC" key on your keyboard. Then type this in.

    Code:
    :wq
    Debian:

    If you want to have teamspeak start-up automatically after a server restart you should add a cron job. To add the cron job run the following commands. Also make sure you're logged into the "ts3srv" account and not root!

    Code:
    crontab -e
    When that is open you should see this window.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	putty_debian_crontab.jpg 
Views:	3906 
Size:	60.1 KB 
ID:	12683

    Debian uses a different type of editor called "nano". Using your arrow keys, press the "down" arrow key till you reach the bottom. Once you hit the bottom type in one of the commands below that goes along with your teamspeak installation that you made above.

    32-bit
    Code:
    @reboot /home/ts3srv/teamspeak3-server_linux-x86/ts3server_startscript.sh start
    64-bit
    Code:
    @reboot /home/ts3srv/teamspeak3-server_linux-amd64/ts3server_startscript.sh start
    Once your write that in your screen should look like this.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	putty_debian_crontab_insert.jpg 
Views:	3564 
Size:	63.7 KB 
ID:	12684


    Now press (CTRL+X) then press "Y" then press enter.

    Now your teamspeak server should startup automatically if you ever do a server restart or it just goes offline and you have to start it back up.
    Last edited by 13lackHawk; July 16th, 2015 at 08:11 AM. Reason: Updated to 3.0.11.3

  2. #2
    Join Date
    August 2011
    Location
    California, United States
    Posts
    23
    Updated to use the latest server version 3.0.2

    EDIT: Also can a mod change the "How-To install TeamSpeak 3.0.0 Server | CentOS" to "How-To install TeamSpeak 3.0.X Server | CentOS | Debian"
    Last edited by 13lackHawk; March 9th, 2012 at 10:48 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    March 2012
    Posts
    5
    This may not be the most appropriate place to ask, but you seem knowledgeable and I would love to hear your opinion...
    Does TS3 use much RAM/CPU on CentOS? Or is it just simply a Bandwidth hog...?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    August 2011
    Location
    California, United States
    Posts
    23
    No, my teamspeak server doesn't use a lot of ram or cpu. It does use bandwidth because its voice chat.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    March 2012
    Posts
    5
    So 100mb or less RAM used? Or should I expect more. With minimal channels and max 32 player slots...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    August 2011
    Location
    California, United States
    Posts
    23
    I don't know, I have never ran a teamspeak server with 100mb or below that, you can give it a try. But why would you use less than 100mb?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    March 2012
    Posts
    5
    Err... I have RAM, I just was wondering how much on average TS3 uses... I was stating the goal to be to use less than 100mb of RAM... Because that's good performance.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    August 2011
    Location
    California, United States
    Posts
    23
    It should use less than 100Mb if its just a single server with 32 slots. I don't run single servers so I couldn't really tell you the actual ram usage of one atm. Start up a server and see how much ram it does use.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    March 2012
    Posts
    5
    I've got all that down... You should add more to the tutorial. Basically I'm stuck at what to do after I start it up.

    I know I need to open some ports, and I probably need to change some stuff. I want access to the webadmin mainly right now xD

  10. #10
    Join Date
    August 2011
    Location
    California, United States
    Posts
    23
    Teamspeak 3 doesn't come with a "webadmin" like Teamspeak 2 did. If you're talking about "Psychokiller TS3 Web admin" then you would need to open up ports "10011, TCP" & "30033, TCP". Also port "9987, UDP" needs to be open in order to connect to the server with the TS3 client. I will also look into adding more to this tutorial. This tutorial was just a quick get a server running without the bells and whistles. xD

  11. #11
    Join Date
    March 2012
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by 13lackHawk View Post
    Teamspeak 3 doesn't come with a "webadmin" like Teamspeak 2 did. If you're talking about "Psychokiller TS3 Web admin" then you would need to open up ports "10011, TCP" & "30033, TCP". Also port "9987, UDP" needs to be open in order to connect to the server with the TS3 client. I will also look into adding more to this tutorial. This tutorial was just a quick get a server running without the bells and whistles. xD
    Oh I'm sorry. I've not had TS since TS2, nor have I messed with the servers since then. I loved the webadmin xD
    I don't suppose much else needs to be added to the tutorial in that case!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    August 2011
    Location
    California, United States
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by Mxer720 View Post
    Oh I'm sorry. I've not had TS since TS2, nor have I messed with the servers since then. I loved the webadmin xD
    I don't suppose much else needs to be added to the tutorial in that case!
    Well after re-reading my tutorial I saw I could expand it a little more. So I will add some more stuff in some time later.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    March 2012
    Posts
    8
    Can I just use:

    su user -c "crontab -e"

  14. #14
    Join Date
    August 2011
    Location
    California, United States
    Posts
    23
    I never used that cmd before but it should work to open up the crontab.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    August 2011
    Location
    California, United States
    Posts
    23
    Updated to 3.0.5

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: November 27th, 2016, 05:03 PM
  2. Teamspeak 3 Server on CentOS 6.6 Logging problems
    By KGBArtapel in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 7th, 2015, 07:02 AM
  3. I need help with teamspeak server in centos
    By Games-K in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 27th, 2014, 12:41 PM
  4. CentOS Install
    By loest in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 30th, 2010, 03:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •