Forum

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    October 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    12

    Teamspeak wakes Graphic card from zerocore ( HD7000 series)

    Hi

    i don't really know if it is a bug, but at least it is a problem with teamspeak for many users.


    If you setup your machine to disable the display device after xx minutes of idle time, the AMD Graphics Core Next cards enter a 'zerocore' mode.
    In this Mode the Fan stops spinning and the card needs less energy.

    BUT, when Teamspeak is running in the background, teamspeak will wake the graphic card every 2-3 seconds. As a result, the graphics card switches to 2D mode for a very short time and turns on the fan. It's just for half a second i think, but it is very annoying to hear the fan start spinning every 2 seconds.

    In the attachment there are 2 pictures with graphs from MSI Afterburner.

    The first shows the behaviour of the card when teamspeak is running in the background while system is in sleep and the second shows when teamspeak is not open.


    i hope you can understand the problem



    please note that teamspeak3 does not wake the system at all, it just prevents the graphics card entering the zerocore mode!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	teamspeakon.jpg 
Views:	137 
Size:	162.9 KB 
ID:	6369   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	teamspeakoff.jpg 
Views:	145 
Size:	176.0 KB 
ID:	6370  
    Last edited by Nemesis757; June 8th, 2012 at 12:16 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    17,065
    It seems, that only the latest graphic cards (7xxx) from AMD do have this AMD Zerocore.
    Nvidia does not deliever something like that :-(

    Does somebody else with such a card have the same problem?
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread? ||NPL (Registration)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,723
    I have the HD7970, not tested for this but perhaps I can. I have an Asus sabertooth 990FX mainboard and Diamond graphics card... can I run MSI afterburner or is there an alternate app for same info?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    October 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    12
    1. Setup your energy settings. ( Turn of Display Device after XX minutes) e.g. 1minute for testing
    2. close all open windows like browser, games, applications which change display output.
    3. go afk for XX minutes
    4 open your case and watch graphics card fan. Without Teamspeak running in the background, the fan should turn off completely. With Teamspeak running, the fan should spin, stop spin, spin, stop spin ( maybe it does not stop completely but it should be faster-slower-faster-slower, maybe you can hear it.)


    of cause you can use afterburner with your card instead of watching your fan. But please notice that you have to minimize afterburner and the graphs window, otherwise the card won't enter zerocore mode due to much display-output change.
    after going idle you can maximise afterburner and see the graphs.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,723
    I've closed every app on my system and used my sleeping profile that shuts down the monitors after a minute. even unplugged the keyboard and mouse. Fan on my card never stops or slows from a normal "non-load" speed. My room is about 75-80 degrees Fahrenheit, so if it uses a temp sensor maybe it is too warm to stop the fan still. Or the 7970 from Diamond is not setup to support this.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    October 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    12
    then there is something wrong with your hardware at all
    every HD7000 series card should go into zerocore Mode in sleep.

    But i have a small update:

    just tried a leaked unofficial beta driver from amd (12th june 2012) and with this, at least the annoying fan off on off on is fixed.
    teamspeak is still preventing the card to sleep but after 3 or 4 attempts to to go into zerocore, the card just stays at 2d clocks with fan spinning all the time.

    So problem is not fixed and not that annoying anymore.


    But as long as no other user also reports this 'bug?' in teamspeak, there will be no fix for this problem i guess.
    And i even doesn't know if it is generally teamspeak related or maybe driver related because teamspeak seems not to be the only programe to have this problem.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    17,065
    We don't see it as a bug from our side, but we can imagine, that QT (our Client "User Interface) acts here, when someone does change a channel or starts and stops talking.

    You could try other QT programs like PSI+, to reproduce this behavior.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread? ||NPL (Registration)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Posts
    1,723
    I was thinking that the connection quality and ping info at the bottom right of the window could be causing it if the screen refresh is called every time the ping is updated, even if the displayed value didn't change. This would be easy for Nemesis to test, just right click on the word connected and uncheck the options.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    October 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    12
    when someone does change a channel or starts and stops talking.
    don't think it is related to someone talking.
    The card is waking up every 3seconds, and does that even if teamspeak is not connected to a server.




    Just tried PSI+: NO problem with zerocore mode.



    We don't see it as a bug from our side
    sure, maybe it's not a true bug in teamspeak. Lets call it compatibility issue with Radeon HD7000 series' zerocore mode
    But it should be fixed sometime in future cause next gen cards will have this zerocore mode, too (i think at least)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    17,065
    Maybe an updated version of QT will work here.
    I can not promisee, that this will be updated in the next client 3.0.7/3.0.8, but it is planned in one of next client releases.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread? ||NPL (Registration)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. (Graphic runs slow) BattleField 3 graphic lag when TS is on!
    By enklast in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 23rd, 2012, 07:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •