Forum

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,029

    [Release] VLC Mute Plugin

    When someone starts talking mutes or lowers VLCs Volume or pauses Playback.
    Playback will resume (or Volume raised back to the previous Level) once everyone has stopped talking.
    Includes configurable Delay to prevent rapidly changing Volume.

    Supported Operating Systems:
    • Windows 32 & 64 bit


    Features include:
    • Mute Audio when someone speaks
    • Lower Volume by 1-99% when someone speaks
    • Configurable Delay to prevent a short Mic Activation causing VLCs Volume to be lowered.
    • Configurable Delay to prevent a short pause causing VLCs Volume to be raised back.


    Requirements:


    Tested with VLC 2.0.1 not sure about older Versions!

    Downloads:
    Addons Page / Client 3.0.9 / API 19 SHA1 Hash: 825C3AE62BDE6E5ABA652EE7E3C6EA8C7B999E15
    Client 3.0.7 / API 17 SHA1 Hash: 17207BE4FD4020E5393B0455FE42F73474C73A7A
    Client 3.0.8.1 / API 18 SHA1 Hash: 2F0F65796DECAEC61527453B818E49575FA0C8EE
    Client 3.0.9 / API 19 SHA1 Hash: 825C3AE62BDE6E5ABA652EE7E3C6EA8C7B999E15
    Client 3.0.18 / API 20 SHA1 Hash: 73216E99E410836E9620C3D7D70E241EE29EF7A3

    Feedback, Feature Requests and Suggestions are always welcome
    Last edited by SilentStorm; November 29th, 2015 at 01:14 PM. Reason: Updated for TeamSpeak Client 3.0.18

  2. #2
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,029
    Updated for Latest TeamSpeak 3 Client 3.0.8.1 API 18 on First Post and Addons Page.

    No other changes.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,029
    Updated for latest TeamSpeak 3 Client 3.0.9 API 19. Download in first post.

    No other changes.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    December 2013
    Posts
    2
    Could you have a little tutorial on how to enable telnet on vlc.
    I tried searching stuff up couldnt really find anything only on how to change the password and port.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    March 2013
    Posts
    2

    where is...

    where is for api 20?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,029
    Updated for the latest TeamSpeak client with API 20.
    Also added some instructions to the settings dialog on how to set things up.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    January 2017
    Posts
    1
    I've an error in the settings menu. On the bottom half of the text is cut away. I don't know if it's just my teamspeak or computer so I'm asking if someone else also has this?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ts.jpg 
Views:	182 
Size:	176.9 KB 
ID:	14804

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ts2.jpg 
Views:	141 
Size:	214.3 KB 
ID:	14805

  8. #8
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,029
    Quote Originally Posted by kon95687 View Post
    I've an error in the settings menu. On the bottom half of the text is cut away. I don't know if it's just my teamspeak or computer so I'm asking if someone else also has this?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ts.jpg 
Views:	182 
Size:	176.9 KB 
ID:	14804

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ts2.jpg 
Views:	141 
Size:	214.3 KB 
ID:	14805
    Your font size is way off the mark in that screenshot. Does the entire client look like that? Because I think I remember other threads talking about such thing.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	vlcmute-settings2.png 
Views:	112 
Size:	59.0 KB 
ID:	15280

  9. #9
    Join Date
    November 2013
    Posts
    327
    Quote Originally Posted by SilentStorm View Post
    Your font size is way off the mark in that screenshot. Does the entire client look like that? Because I think I remember other threads talking about such thing.
    Hm, that is very curious. Technically your font size is off. I do have the same problems as kon95687. What DarkenTS version are you using? Initially I shifted the blame to you and other addon authors, named it "basic addon support" and called it a day, but if people start giving feedback now I will have to have a second look.

    VLC Muter is not the only addon I have problems with. I assume it's how the UI is created. It appears that the addon Qt Objects I have tested so far have fixed values applied to them and do not scale.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2017-04-01_18-30-54.png 
Views:	75 
Size:	134.0 KB 
ID:	15291Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2017-04-01_18-31-15.png 
Views:	85 
Size:	137.3 KB 
ID:	15292

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2017-04-01_18-36-07.png 
Views:	142 
Size:	167.0 KB 
ID:	15293Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2017-04-01_18-37-01.png 
Views:	107 
Size:	146.3 KB 
ID:	15294

    Of course I could go through VLC Muter and fix any issues manually, that wouldn't be much of a problem, but then I had to do that for every single addon, and that I can and will not do.

    The whole thing would be a lot easier if there were some naming conventions addon authors would apply, because lately I have been playing around with selectors which would allow me to mass-address certain Qt elements (Qt's own 'accessibleName' seems to be a thing too), but before I annoy addon developers by imposing some stupid standards on them I do have to do a lot more testing.

    Anyway, the one problem a few addons I looked into today share, are fixed values that clash with DarkenTS settings (height/width/maximumWidth/etc), which are obviously adapted for the default TeamSpeak design.
    Last edited by Brady_The; April 1st, 2017 at 07:27 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,029
    Well, I don't do anything special (that I am aware of) in terms of UI creation.

    I haven't looked into the way TeamSpeak does their UI, especially with regards to buttons or labels, but if they're in one of these annoying QLayout thingies (and those do the resizing for them) then that might explain it - because I don't do that.

    I could look into making the Label scroll-able, but that won't help with the buttons.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    November 2013
    Posts
    327
    Quote Originally Posted by SilentStorm View Post
    Well, I don't do anything special (that I am aware of) in terms of UI creation.

    I haven't looked into the way TeamSpeak does their UI, especially with regards to buttons or labels, but if they're in one of these annoying QLayout thingies (and those do the resizing for them) then that might explain it - because I don't do that.

    I could look into making the Label scroll-able, but that won't help with the buttons.
    The buttons were just an example to demonstrate that elements are not scaling. In your addons I have only noticed problems with QLabels, QCheckBoxes, and in case of Session Lock Actions QTabWidget.

    I had a couple of ideas, but I found an easier way of addressing the problem that doesn't include taking up your time. It's not beautiful, but it works.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,029
    Quote Originally Posted by Brady_The View Post
    The buttons were just an example to demonstrate that elements are not scaling. In your addons I have only noticed problems with QLabels, QCheckBoxes, and in case of Session Lock Actions QTabWidget.

    I had a couple of ideas, but I found an easier way of addressing the problem that doesn't include taking up your time. It's not beautiful, but it works.
    Well, apparently that's somewhat of an issue still. There are still (some) other styles out there as well (even though nowadays people seem to just rip-off yours...). They may be few and far between but still. So ultimately I would possibly want to do something about it, if it's not too much work for too little gain. Back when I did stuff for Linux (like half a decade ago or something like that) the few people that used it there, had some issues too because iirc Linux used larger fonts by default for some reason. Though that was back with Qt4 and Linux has changed too since then (one would think), so not sure if that's an issue still.

    Personally I never bothered with any scaling, it never affected or showed for me. Since I don't own any system that experiences those issues I can't really test that stuff either.

    Ideally everything would just work as intended (unless styles break things completely and badly, but that's another story) without styles having to cater for special stuff or doing weird hacks/workarounds.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    September 2005
    Location
    Germany / Dortmund
    Posts
    1,376
    Quote Originally Posted by SilentStorm View Post
    I haven't looked into the way TeamSpeak does their UI, especially with regards to buttons or labels, but if they're in one of these annoying QLayout thingies (and those do the resizing for them) then that might explain it - because I don't do that.
    These "QLayout thingies" are the Qt approach of - wait for it - layouting multiple widgets. And it's not that hard, isn't it? In most situations it's only one click (if you are using a designer file). What's wrong about that?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,029
    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas View Post
    These "QLayout thingies" are the Qt approach of - wait for it - layouting multiple widgets. And it's not that hard, isn't it? In most situations it's only one click (if you are using a designer file). What's wrong about that?
    Yeah obviously, but imho they're horrible and it's way harder than it should be, or may look like. Been toying around with those abominations for at least two hours now... still doesn't work correctly or look right. UI has at least twice as many widgets now and it's utter crap. So nope, not going to waste more time on this.
    Right now I'd rather override styles than waste any more time on this.

    It works with older DarkenTS (according to the qss comment it was 1.0.3 xx.01.2016 that I had enabled in the screenshot), but then again that doesn't really make stuff readable from miles away either.

    In any case I'm done, it either works or it doesn't. I revised my opinion and will not cater or code for styles other than the default one. If it's broken in Default I'll fix it, otherwise I won't pour hours of time into it anymore.
    Last edited by SilentStorm; April 2nd, 2017 at 04:05 PM.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    November 2013
    Posts
    327
    Quote Originally Posted by SilentStorm View Post
    Well, apparently that's somewhat of an issue still. There are still (some) other styles out there as well (even though nowadays people seem to just rip-off yours...). They may be few and far between but still. So ultimately I would possibly want to do something about it, if it's not too much work for too little gain. Back when I did stuff for Linux (like half a decade ago or something like that) the few people that used it there, had some issues too because iirc Linux used larger fonts by default for some reason. Though that was back with Qt4 and Linux has changed too since then (one would think), so not sure if that's an issue still.

    Personally I never bothered with any scaling, it never affected or showed for me. Since I don't own any system that experiences those issues I can't really test that stuff either.

    Ideally everything would just work as intended (unless styles break things completely and badly, but that's another story) without styles having to cater for special stuff or doing weird hacks/workarounds.
    The amount of people using styles and your plugins in combination are probably pretty low. However, I think there are a couple of ways you could improve your addons even for default TeamSpeak.

    Note that I have no experience in Qt Creator, or UI creation in general, so my suggestions are purely coming from a "CSS character jockey" who stared at the TeamSpeak UI for hours to no end. That also means that unfortunately I cannot offer any technical input.

    Another note: You certainly don't need to rush anything in my DarkenTS case. It's nothing major, and the overlap between DarkenTS and SilentStormAddon users is probably pretty small.

    1) Scalability. Not sure how to achieve that exactly, but it should be doable. Edit: All right, I might have spoken too early. This doesn't appear to be too straight-forward.
    2) "Streamlined layout". Especially labels in front of checkboxes, spinboxex, etc don't seem to be placed "centred" with their respective elements, many times not with just one pixel difference that might escape the eye, but 3, 4 pixels. (Chatlog Viewer is a good example). Possible Qt solution could be using horizontal layouts for those? Some labels use colons, some labels don't (e.g. Chatlog Viewer), etc, small things mostly that add up.
    3) Tooltips. Shift additional information from labels or checkboxes into tooltips to shorten really long descriptions.

    Some quick mock-ups
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AutoReplyBefore.png 
Views:	91 
Size:	16.8 KB 
ID:	15307 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AutoReplyAfter.png 
Views:	62 
Size:	16.6 KB 
ID:	15317

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ChatlogViewerBefore.png 
Views:	66 
Size:	11.9 KB 
ID:	15299 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ChatlogViewerAfter.png 
Views:	67 
Size:	9.3 KB 
ID:	15315

    (Some visual bugs are due to the fact that I did not restart the client between switching styles, but the point largely still stands.)

    Edit:
    Quote Originally Posted by SilentStorm View Post
    It works with older DarkenTS (according to the qss comment it was 1.0.3 xx.01.2016 that I had enabled in the screenshot), but then again that doesn't really make stuff readable from miles away either.

    In any case I'm done, it either works or it doesn't. I revised my opinion and will not cater or code for styles other than the default one. If it's broken in Default I'll fix it, otherwise I won't pour hours of time into it anymore.
    Fair enough. I did not really had that expectation any way. I'll have a look what potentially changed between the DarkenTS versions that could have possibly broken the display. Additionally I have already a "fix" in place.
    Last edited by Brady_The; April 3rd, 2017 at 08:21 AM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Release] Auto/Global Mute Plugin
    By Rajveer in forum Client Plugins / Lua Scripts
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: February 1st, 2017, 10:57 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 4th, 2015, 06:11 PM
  3. [Outdated] TS3 GroupChat Plugin
    By SilentStorm in forum Client Plugins / Lua Scripts
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: October 15th, 2014, 02:04 AM
  4. [RELEASE] WMP Mute!
    By tomix in forum Client Plugins / Lua Scripts
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: April 16th, 2011, 06:25 PM
  5. [Release]Rhythmbox plugin
    By Dominik in forum Client Plugins / Lua Scripts
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: December 3rd, 2010, 10:06 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •