Forum

Server Requirement for Teamspeak 3

Hi! I'm a bit new to TS, so please pardon my ignorance if my questions seem to be a bit too noobish.

I would like to know what the server requirements are for a TS3 installation. We are planning to install it for a client on a VPS or maybe a small personal dedicated server, whichever is more cost-effective, with the following specs:

VPS:
    1024Mb RAM
    50Gb HDD
    1Gbps shared uplink
    Unlimited Bandwidth

Dedicated Server:
    Single Quad-Core processor
    2048Mb RAM
    100Gb HDD
    100Mbps dedicated uplink
    10Tb per month Bandwidth

Either of them would be configured as a LAMP (Linux, Apache, MySQL, PHP) server with Centos 6+ 64-bit as the OS. Would those configurations be overkill? The installation wouldn't be heavily utilized, and mainly just for voice comms by around 10-40 users maximum (most probably way less than that). Those setups may also be upgraded, if they don't have sufficient resources.

Again, I'm sorry if my questions seem to be too noobish. I'm familiar with servers and server management, since I'm a dedicated server reseller and I also operate a VPS & webspace hosting business, but I am a bit unfamiliar with how TS works.

I would very much appreciate any help and advice that you can give me.

Thank you very much in advance for your assistance.

Hey.

I have running machine with Debian "Wheezy" 7.0:
    512 mb ram
    100 mbit uplink
    25 GB HDD
    1 CPU @1.60 GHz

TS3 server uses from 2.8% of RAM to 6.3% of RAM. It's about 15 to 50 mb of ram.
    Actually I have Voice Encryption turned on. It uses maximum of 30-40% of CPU with 150 users online at same time.
    Server needs ~8 kilobits per user. It depends on number of clients in one channel. Personally I can say that 10 mbits uplink is way too much for my ~150 users.
    About bandwidth - My server uses about 300 GB monthly with maximum of 150 users. About 10-15 GB daily.