Forum

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    15

    Solved Error on startup: ResolveHostName failed error: -3

    Hello,

    I get errors during the start since I have the non-profit license key. I'm pretty sure it's not a problem of the teamspeak server the problem is the configuration of the firewall.
    If I deactivate my firewall everything is running fine.

    I receive the following error messages during the start:
    Code:
    2012-09-12 19:27:19.718377|ERROR   |              |   | TS3ANetwork::ResolveHostName failed error: -3 (Temporary failure in name resolution) 11
    2012-09-12 19:27:40.718363|ERROR   |              |   | TS3ANetwork::Connect failed error: 110
    2012-09-12 19:27:40.718460|ERROR   |Accounting    |   | Unable to connect to accounting server
    2012-09-12 19:27:40.718494|ERROR   |ServerLibPriv |   | Server() error while starting servermanager, error: unable to connect to accounting server
    I have opened the following ports:
    TCP: 10011 137 2008 30033 41144
    UDP: 2010 9987

    I use suse 12.1 with susefirewall2. If I turn on to log all traffic there is nothing which has to something to do with the mentioned ports. Are there other ports which I have to add.

    Or is there something special with the susefirewall2 which I have to consider?

    Greets,
    jodibla

  2. #2
    Join Date
    April 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,266
    It seems to me that your firewall settings block DNS traffic. While running with a license the teamspeak server tries to resolv the hostname of the license managing server in order to check on the validity of the license. In your case as reported in the logs your server can not resolv that hostname which IMHO points to a problem with DNS on your server.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    15
    Hi,

    I have read some acticles about the susefirewall2. I configured the firewall via yast2 and it is said that you don't have all the options for selection if you configure it with yast2.
    I will have a look into the configfiles this evening. Maybe I can find a solution there.

    Greets,
    jodibla

  4. #4
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,076
    You need to open TCP Port 2008 for outgoing connections to accounting.teamspeak.com so that your TeamSpeak server can validate the license.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    15
    Hi,

    I already wrote the ports which are open. And 2008 is open for incoming and outgoing communication.

    Quote Originally Posted by jodibla View Post
    I have opened the following ports:
    TCP: 10011 137 2008 30033 41144
    UDP: 2010 9987

  6. #6
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,076
    Must've missed the 2008 port in your list... sorry.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    15
    Problem solved.
    If you use SuSEfirewall2 it's not enough to allow the mentioned ports. You also have to accept the service.
    I'm not sure but I couldn't find the option via yast. The solution was to edit the config file located in /etc/sysconfig/SuSEfirewall2
    To accept an specific service you have to edit FW_SERVICES_ACCEPT_EXT/INT/DMZ. Depends on which zone you use.
    I changed it from FW_SERVICES_ACCEPT_EXT="" to FW_SERVICES_ACCEPT_EXT="0/0" which accepts everything.

    And don't panic FW_SERVICES_EXT_TCP and FW_SERVICES_EXT_UDP still take precedence over FW_SERVICES_ACCEPT_EXT.

    Greets,
    jodibla

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Resolved] ResolveHostName failed error: -2
    By Psybertech in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: December 3rd, 2015, 03:02 PM
  2. TS3ANetwork::ResolveHostName failed error: -5
    By Narakot in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 3rd, 2012, 05:52 PM
  3. ResolveHostName failed error: -2
    By Psybertech in forum Server Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 9th, 2010, 02:42 AM
  4. ResolveHostName failed error: -2
    By Psybertech in forum General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 6th, 2010, 08:23 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •