Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    July 2010
    Location
    Madrid
    Posts
    106

    TSDNS Add parameter

    Hi Dev,

    Is it possible to add a command line paramter to add a new line for a new TSDNS record?

    tsdns.exe -NewTDNSEntry xxxx.clan.com -To IP:PORT -Update

    It could be great a parameter for us GSP to automatic user update their tsdns

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    October 2010
    Posts
    85
    Would be nice but it is not necesary,

    Just click close tsdns.exe and double click on tsdns.exe --> it takes 3 seconds XD..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,079
    you can already just edit/append to the tsdns_settings.ini file and then run the tsdns binary with the --update parameter.
    This could also be done automatically by application if you want to.

    Quote Originally Posted by tsdns/usage.txt
    Updating the tsdns_settings.ini while the tsdnsserver is running
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ ++++++++++++++
    Simply edit the tsdns_settings.ini file, and then start a (second) tsdnsserver,
    but this time with the parameter "--update" appended to the command line. The
    newly started executable will terminate immediatly, and the old "main" tsdns
    server will note something similar to:
    "Scanned tsdns_settings.ini, number of entries: 56"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    July 2010
    Location
    Madrid
    Posts
    106
    Yeah, but for example we deploy our TS3 Server with TCAdmin.

    And TSDNS service havent and "ADD" parameter for automatic deploy a new TSDNS record, for 2 or 3 customer you can start stop the service and add manually the new entry but for 10.000 servers... its a *****

    if TSDNS get a ADD parameter we can add a textbox in the customer service for autoupdate the setting.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,079
    There is no need to stop the service to update the settings, you just start a second instance with the --update parameter which will tell the already running instance to use the new settings. Afterwards the second instance will exit.

    If you were to add an input field (or other means for you / your customer) to the your Customer Service Center you could then have the script / application that receives the Input when the user confirms the changes automatically edit the File and run the tsdns with the --update parameter. Though there might be problems with concurrent editing if you have many customers editing at the same time, so this might not be a solution for a large scale environment.

    For larger scale environments you could save all the TSDNS Names for your customers in an SQL Database which could easily be updated from your customer service center page. A script would then run every 5 minutes using crontab / task scheduler reading the Entries from the database, create the tsdns_settings.ini from these records and then have this script call the tsdns server with the --update parameter. This way you would be able to offer your customers the ability to update their TSDNS address automatically with a reasonable delay. The small delay shouldn't really hurt as updating the TSDNS Name shouldn't happen frequently.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    July 2010
    Location
    Madrid
    Posts
    106
    Its not bad, but continue be "bad" . I dont know why develovers add a field in Server Settings were the serveradmins could update their unique TSDNS record from Teamspeak3 Client.

    Only need add some field text, a line/parameter in ts3.ini server for path to ts3dns config file. And a permission for "US" "GameServiceProviders" to allow to "Serveradmin" group to manage that feature.

    For us, GSP i think that could be great, cheaper. Autoupdated and clean when a server is deleted autodelete their config line.

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    October 2010
    Posts
    85
    Just tell your clients don't change custom address many times only if it's really necesary.

    and what you want:

    ((((( Only need add some field text, a line/parameter in ts3.ini server for path to ts3dns config file. And a permission for "US" "GameServiceProviders" to allow to "Serveradmin" group to manage that feature. ))))

    Remember that ts3.ini it's for all servers not a single server like ccs, people can not have control cause if they do they can change all.

    It only can work if you run a ts server per client service, like ccs does.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 11th, 2015, 10:09 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 4th, 2013, 02:52 PM
  3. parameter
    By ajanibo in forum Client Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 4th, 2011, 09:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •