Forum

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    August 2012
    Posts
    1

    Solved ts3server Links do not work in Google Chrome

    links do not work such as ts3server://ts.fastcup.net?port=9987&&nickname=dead_mazau. browser - chrome. Help set up the teamspeak or browser, that links are working

  2. #2
    Join Date
    October 2012
    Posts
    4

    Solved ts3server Links do not work in Google Chrome

    Hi

    I am also experiencing this problem. I recently started a TS3 server. Built the link as follows:
    ts3server://ip?port=9987&nickname=test1&password=password&cid= 11
    In IE 9.0.10 it opens the TS3 client fine (but does not go to the specified channel another issue)
    In Firefox 16.0.1 it opens the TS3 client fine (but does not go to the specified channel another issue)
    In Chrome 22.0.1229.94 it does not open the client but goes to Google search results showing that the url does not yield any results.

    I tried installing release 3.0.7 listed above with the same result.

    Regards

    Neels

  3. #3
    Join Date
    October 2012
    Posts
    4
    Hi

    I now also downloaded and installed release 3.0.0. Same result: Works with IE and Firefox, but not with Chrome. So it seems it never worked in Chrome. A Chrome issue perhaps? Possible workarounds? It is rather disappointing that one cannot do this in Chrome. Linking from a website to TS3 is really a powerful tool.

    Regards

    Neels

  4. #4
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,080
    Quote Originally Posted by Chiron1969 View Post
    Hi

    I am also experiencing this problem. I recently started a TS3 server. Built the link as follows:
    ts3server://ip?port=9987&nickname=test1&password=password&cid= 11
    In IE 9.0.10 it opens the TS3 client fine (but does not go to the specified channel another issue)
    In Firefox 16.0.1 it opens the TS3 client fine (but does not go to the specified channel another issue)
    In Chrome 22.0.1229.94 it does not open the client but goes to Google search results showing that the url does not yield any results.

    I tried installing release 3.0.7 listed above with the same result.

    Regards

    Neels
    That is just Chrome behavior and it behaves the same way on every operating system.
    Chrome will ask me whether I want to open the TeamSpeak client when I click a ts3server link on any webpage, but it does not ask the operating system if that protocol is known / registered to an external application when entering such a link into the address bar.
    This has nothing to do with TeamSpeak and is a Chrome issue.

    As for the cid parameter, it only works with client 3.0.9

  5. #5
    Join Date
    October 2012
    Posts
    4
    Chris

    Thanks for the quick reply. I appreciate it. So the bottom line is that there is nothing I can do about this except tell chrome users to copy the link and then use windows key-r or start run to execute it.

    Regards

    Neels
    Last edited by Chiron1969; October 16th, 2012 at 01:01 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,080
    As long as it is displayed on a web page or an html file and the user clicks the link it works fine with any of the main browsers (chrome, FF, IE).

    If you send them the link by mail or instant messenger, it should work by clicking the link as well (definitely in web client, but most regular mail clients should work).

    If you are telling them to copy the link into a browser it seems weird since they should be able to just click the link instead of copying it into a browser. Also instead of starting the browser for just that purpose they could easily start the TeamSpeak client as well and just paste the link into the connect dialog and hit connect.

    If you give them the link in a way they cannot copy it, then something is wrong in the first place as you could've just given them the IP or address as well as the port and password directly and they can enter it in the client.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,409
    You can't copy/enter "ts3server://....." in your address bar, but you can use it on any website.

    You could use http://www.teamspeak.com/invite/123....123/?port=1234 instead.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Resolved] [WIN 8.1 / 10] Unable to open links with chrome
    By justincase in forum Windows
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: December 9th, 2016, 07:02 AM
  2. Clicking links won't open them in Chrome
    By iTouchTheSky in forum Windows
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 30th, 2013, 01:39 AM
  3. How to install java plugin for google chrome?
    By AvrilCharlie in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 26th, 2013, 08:52 AM
  4. Google Chrome navigator not opennig links since 3.0.8.1
    By Tijoe in forum Bug Reports [EN/DE]
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: November 7th, 2012, 05:33 PM
  5. ts3server:// links on Mac OS X
    By BadgerDog in forum macOS
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: September 21st, 2010, 11:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •