Forum

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    February 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    8

    Unhappy TS3 falls back to "classic" Windows style on Windows 8 RTM

    Hi,

    I just switched to Windows 8 Professional (RTM - no Beta, RC or CP!).
    TeamSpeak 3 works perfectly on it, but it's ugly (Client 3.0.8.1).

    It falls back to the "classic" Windows style aka Win 98.

    Here are two screenshots:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	342 
Size:	12.5 KB 
ID:	6819

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	capture2.png 
Views:	882 
Size:	59.2 KB 
ID:	6820

    It's nothing critical, but unexpected.
    I'm using the "Plastique" theme in the meantime, but would like to have the modern Windows style back.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,076
    It seems to be more of a generic problem with Windows 8 to me, as I was experiencing this issue with other applications (like Chrome, Firefox and other non metro applications for example) as well when I was trying out Windows 8 with one of the Consumer previews.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    February 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    8
    Well at least Chrome looks fine here now. Spotify (which uses Qt as well), Dropbox and Winamp also use the proper WinControls. Haven't met another application which looks old yet.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    April 2011
    Location
    Brasil
    Posts
    25

    Solved QT interface Windows 8

    Please fix the QT interface style in Windows 8.

    I know this is not a bug in TeamSpeak.
    The problem is QT Outdated, in the latest version of QT(4.8.3) fixes this "bug"

    Link to Thread QT Fórum: http://qt-project.org/forums/viewthread/15070

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	QtBug.png 
Views:	489 
Size:	117.0 KB 
ID:	6980
    Last edited by Xteam; October 30th, 2012 at 03:41 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,076
    Try and select WindowsVista from Settings -> options -> design -> style and restart the client, see if this changes anything.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    April 2011
    Location
    Brasil
    Posts
    25
    I am waiting for a response

  7. #7
    Join Date
    April 2011
    Location
    Brasil
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    Try and select WindowsVista from Settings -> options -> design -> style and restart the client, see if this changes anything.
    You do not understand
    He does not show some style options because of this bug

    See the image
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pngtest.png 
Views:	327 
Size:	160.1 KB 
ID:	7000

    QT FORUM
    The problem was that Qt did not check for Windows version correctly (hence the checks for >= Windows Vista or >= Windows XP failed). This has been fixed in Qt 4.8 by my merge request https://qt.gitorious.org/qt/qt/commi...1b59c0cbd9369b
    This can be resolved by upgrading the version of QT
    Last edited by Xteam; October 31st, 2012 at 03:56 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,076
    You are right, a more recent version of Qt will use and offer the WindowsVista Style in the options, which will make the dropdown boxes and dialog background look less like Win9x and more like Windows 7/8.
    It will not change the general window design with the opaque, centered title bar though. That is just Windows 8 desktop style and cannot be changed.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Posts
    3

    Windows 8 support

    I just switched to Windows 8 and Teamspeak looks horrible! It's like I'm watching something from Windows 95. Please add some support for Windows 8

  10. #10
    Join Date
    April 2011
    Location
    Brasil
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by Ordos View Post
    I just switched to Windows 8 and Teamspeak looks horrible! It's like I'm watching something from Windows 95. Please add some support for Windows 8
    +1
    It really is looking like TeamSpeak 3 for Windows 95

  11. #11
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,076
    Qt will be updated with the next client release which in turn fixes this as it is a Qt issue.
    Please note that - as mentioned earlier - this will not change the "window frame" ie. the huge, centered titlebar. This is how Microsoft wanted applications that run on the good old desktop to look.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    December 2012
    Posts
    1
    You need at least Qt 4.8.

    This commit is the fix:
    https://qt.gitorious.org/qt/qt/commi...1b59c0cbd9369b

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. windows explorer interface
    By shawnavin in forum Windows
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 14th, 2012, 09:36 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •