Forum

Noise awareness plugin

I hope I did not miss a thread for this feature. I skimmed about 30 pages forums and threads so far and could not find a program that fits my needs.

Often when I game I tend to get a bit too loud. Living with other people that can turn out to be quite a problem. For a while I am looking for a program or plugin that gives me either visual or sound feedback when the input in my mic gets too loud.
    I guess there might be more people with the same issue as closed headsets really make you loose the sense for your own loudness.

So please consider implementing this feature. I am trying to develop one by myself but I'm fairly new to coding so that might take ages.

Regards
    Simon

tl;dr:
    I am looking for a plugin or stand alone program that warns me when the mic input is too high.

Most common if not all programs with clip indication don't actually analyze the signal in a way that proves (analog) clipping, but do an early alarm for digital clipping.
    The thing is, when the signal reaches us as sample values, analog clipping will already have occured and simply be a signal looking different to what it should. But one cannot just go like this value is out of range, too high or something. So, to determine actual analog clipping one would've to do some Fast Fourier Transform (FFT) magic and analyze the frequency spectrum and compare that to what voice should look like. That's neither really inexpensive (although one could argue nowadays it is) to compute or reliably determinable afterwards.
    Therefor, peak determination afaik usually works by analyzing how often or if a threshold near the/a value range is reached, and when that happens, alert a peak. Since professional audio uses a 32bit+ value range for internal processing, there's easily enough headroom for such stuff, since it will have come in as 16 or 24 and be taken down to 16 or 24 later on again anyways.