Forum

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    January 2013
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    6

    get a static ip?

    Hello i just installed the 32bit TS server on a windows PC for personal use !
    By personal use i mean :

    I have 15 friends with who i play all the time ....and skype or yahoo is..awful ......it`s not a solution ...
    So we have tried TS...the only problem was..that on the servers we connected ...well..we had no privacy .... so i have installed a TS server .

    The only problem is that my router is connected via PPPoE ..so every time i reset my router or the internet drops... my IP changes ....any chance to some how have a static IP if..my connection is PPPoE ?
    If i use a vpn..will it work ? or..some how..to have a static Ip..and not the one from the router 192.168.x.xxx ..because on that IP..i can connect only the devices connected to the router ..

    Kind Regards,
    Radu

  2. #2
    Join Date
    January 2013
    Posts
    6
    Hi!

    Most ISP won't offer a fixed IP to home users, but using dynamic DNS (i.e. http://dyn.com/dns/) will help.
    Your friends will be able to find you actual IP adress via DNS service.

    If your router isn't able to update dyndns, you might wan't to install a dyndns update service on you windows host (there are howtos and download links on the dyn.com website).

    Regards,

    BigMac

  3. #3
    Join Date
    January 2013
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by realBigMac View Post
    Hi!

    Most ISP won't offer a fixed IP to home users, but using dynamic DNS (i.e. http://dyn.com/dns/) will help.
    Your friends will be able to find you actual IP adress via DNS service.

    If your router isn't able to update dyndns, you might wan't to install a dyndns update service on you windows host (there are howtos and download links on the dyn.com website).

    Regards,

    BigMac
    Thank you for the ultra fast reply...but i`m searching for a free solution ........ is it possible to connect via vpn?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    January 2013
    Posts
    6

  5. #5
    Join Date
    January 2013
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by realBigMac View Post
    Thank you very much , i will try now and i will reply with my progress thank you very much realBigMac

  6. #6
    Join Date
    January 2013
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by realBigMac View Post
    Thank You very much , it`s working perfect , i have done it with www.noip.com , thank you very much ...i really appreciate it , you made my day , thank you so much !!!!!!!

    Best wishes to you

  7. #7
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11
    For a bonus, you can download the No-IP Client and have the program auto-update your no-ip address when you start your computer

  8. #8
    Join Date
    January 2013
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Alex4108 View Post
    For a bonus, you can download the No-IP Client and have the program auto-update your no-ip address when you start your computer
    Yeah i did :d thanks for the tip

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •