Forum

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Opus Codec

  1. #1
    Join Date
    February 2013
    Posts
    2

    Opus Codec

    I have installed the latest beta of the server and client of Teamspeak and was doing some testing with the Opus Codec. It sounds great but the bandwidth will only go up to 11.87 KiB/s. Is there any way to make this higher?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    The 3rd dimension
    Posts
    956
    I would like slightly better quality opus for the voice codec. When I compared it via playing music through a virtual audio cable device to the beta server I was able to have stunning full quality with the stereo version of the codec. Then I alternated between the maximum quality normal opus codec and the same with CELT Mono. The CELT Mono codec had a little better quality than the voice Opus codec.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,119
    RadarGaming
    It is not only the bandwith, that goes up here. It's the bandwith and the quality.
    You could even set a bot with continous transmission into a music channel and he would send 2-3 KiB/s ony, when nothing was played.

    Only the Celt codec makes the bandwith much higher and the quality from 0-10 is exactly the same.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    October 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    553
    Morthawt, did you compare the voice codes with music?
    I was just thinking, with voice specific codec dsp / bandwidth settings, the result of a perceived quality comparison might be shifted by that. As an illustration, a voice codec might be cutting off frequency ranges definitely not used by the human voice (nearly no matter what quality perceived) to reduce bandwidth. In that case, at the same bandwidth the less efficient codec would sound "better" with music, with pure voice potentially the other way round. Don't know about the inner workings of Celt or Opus though, hence just noting, not implying - I've yet to first meet with the much awaited Opus altogether.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    The 3rd dimension
    Posts
    956
    There is a definite difference. I compared maximum quality of all 3 best codecs and celt-mono beats the quality of the standard opus codec but the stereo opus codec beats everything hands down. That is why I would like to see a little better quality on the voice opus codec if possible. It is not a major big deal but it would just be nice to technically have a "better" quality or "equal" rather than a slight decrease. And it was slight..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    February 2013
    Posts
    2
    I need a way to send music over teamspeak high quality 96k or so. Can it be done with the opus music codec?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,076
    Unless you stream music I can't hear any difference between Opus Voice / Music at quality 10.
    Opus Music is specifically for music.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    The 3rd dimension
    Posts
    956
    I think it would just be nice to see the quality levels represent an even higher quality at the level 10 at least on the voice codec to compare to the CELT Mono.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Posts
    60
    The Opus codec has the ability to use incredible quality with very minimal delay which makes it one of a kind and really the best codec out from that standpoint. were talkin over 100k easy.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,076
    Just because something is theoretically/technically possible doesn't mean it is good, profitable or making sense.
    Wasting considerable amount of bandwidth for no noticeable improvement clearly doesn't make sense.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    March 2013
    Location
    BX157 INF
    Posts
    2
    Ok, I'm new to this [Opus Voice] now my problem is I cant even choose it? can anyone help on this?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    December 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    324
    Quote Originally Posted by exilelrrp View Post
    Ok, I'm new to this [Opus Voice] now my problem is I cant even choose it? can anyone help on this?
    if you have the server teamspeak 3, the server need to be upgrade from release 02.03.2013 3.0.7 it work only with 3.0.7 server and client 3.0.10.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    March 2013
    Location
    BX157 INF
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by hunterpl View Post
    if you have the server teamspeak 3, the server need to be upgrade from release 02.03.2013 3.0.7 it work only with 3.0.7 server and client 3.0.10.
    I have the latest 3.0.10, when you say the server you talking about example "Gameservers" ?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    October 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    553
    He's talking about the Teamspeak server you connect to. For enabling Opus, it must have been upgraded, too.
    You can see the server version after connection by clicking on the root on the left tree (server name), then looking at the info area on the right.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    February 2010
    Location
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    34
    I can't seem to select opus either. Updated my client and my server which I have physical access to. What gives? server is at 3.0.7 and client is 3.0.10

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Not Supported] Problems with codec opus music
    By lucky40990 in forum Client Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: November 6th, 2017, 10:11 AM
  2. [Rejected] Opus 1.1, Opus Voice Stereo, Server-side smiles
    By KIDINK^ in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: October 27th, 2014, 11:11 AM
  3. User Permissions and the Opus Audio Codec
    By theckman in forum Permission System
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 18th, 2014, 11:51 PM
  4. What happened to the Opus Music codec? Quality is awful now.
    By Morthawt in forum General Questions
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: April 9th, 2013, 05:13 AM
  5. [Resolved] Some guide how to enable Opus codec ?
    By breaker69 in forum Windows
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 17th, 2013, 04:49 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •