Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    18

    Question 2 TS3 installations on one machine

    Hello,
    I've got a little problem with my TS3 Server, especially with the updating process. The easiest way to solve all my problems would be to install a brand new TS3 Server on the same machine. Normally this would mean that i deinstall the current serversoftware and just install the new. But this would mean losing all my channel, channels descriptions etc. And it would take some time creating all channels, all server and channel groups, etc. And the 3 virtual server which i am runing atm would not work effectivly for a week or more.

    So my idea is to install a new TS3 server software on the same machine (of course into a differention folder), creating again 3 virtual server with completly different ports than the current ones. If this would be possible i could spend any time i want on adjusting this new 3 virtual servers (without any need to hurry, and no distraction by guys asking when their personal channel is restored and blablabla), and as soon as everything is finished i would turn of the current ones and basically just replace the current broken version with a working one.

    Is this possible?
    Can I use the same license file, temporarily for two different installations on the same machine?
    Will the two serversoftwares running at the same time interfere with each other?
    Will the deinstallation process of the current serversoftware break the future serversoftware?

    Another complelty different solution to my problem would be, if i could change the ts3server.sqlitedb from restoring the channel AND permission settings to ONLY RESTORE THE CHANNELS (description).
    Is this possible?
    What would happen if i just delete all informations regarding the permissions in the ts3server.sqlitedb....could I integrate a ts3server.sqlitedb containing only channel settings into a ts3server.sqlitedb containing no channels but all permission settings?


    I hope you can help me with that. Thank in advance,
    fastgiga

  2. #2
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,079
    Why make it complicated when things can be so easy?

    Just shutdown the server, wait till it's shutdown and then extract all the files from the new server zip into the directory where you put your existing server, overwriting any files it asks you to and then finally start the server again.
    It will update the server and keep all the settings, takes no longer than 5 minutes tops.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    18
    but doing this would result in every error in the permission settings to be transfered to the new installation.
    Last edited by fastgiga; March 6th, 2013 at 10:08 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    April 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,266
    Have you ever tried the serverquery command "permreset"? It will wipe all your "errors in the permission settings".

  5. #5
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    18
    Sounds good, but what about the permissions which don't even exist in the database?
    Im talking about those permissions which had to be added manually during one of the earliest update from the beta to the live version.

    will they be created automatically if this command is entered....because if not...then its no use for me^^

  6. #6
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Catalunya
    Posts
    2,350
    permreset
    Restores the default permission settings on the selected virtual server and
    creates a new initial administrator token. Please note that in case of an
    error during the permreset call - e.g. when the database has been modified or
    corrupted - the virtual server will be deleted from the database.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Europe/Czech Rep.
    Posts
    1,616
    Quote Originally Posted by fastgiga View Post
    Can I use the same license file, temporarily for two different installations on the same machine?
    Will the two serversoftwares running at the same time interfere with each other?
    Will the deinstallation process of the current serversoftware break the future serversoftware?
    1. with NPL it is not allowed. But I heard that you could if you watch your total slots for them below 512.
    2. if you select different ports for the second one.(query filetransfer voice)
    3. idk, it could uninstall only last server installed. :-(

    Proposal: why don't you first fix your servers? You said you have 3. You could use your current server create another 3 virtualservers, and migrate things into them. When you are done, delete first 3 servers, change slots and voila(same thing, different ports but using one server). You can upgrade normaly.
    I personaly also had a txt file that served me as a backup snapshot. But I only edit it when I want to do full reinstall. With it I just dump the contents name and channel settings into it. in past I also did permissions.

    Quote Originally Posted by fastgiga View Post
    Another complelty different solution to my problem would be, if i could change the ts3server.sqlitedb from restoring the channel AND permission settings to ONLY RESTORE THE CHANNELS (description).
    Is this possible?
    What would happen if i just delete all informations regarding the permissions in the ts3server.sqlitedb....could I integrate a ts3server.sqlitedb containing only channel settings into a ts3server.sqlitedb containing no channels but all permission settings?
    Removing all permissions and dumping in default one, is indeed possible(done it several times). You could do it over sqlitedb(it is not so simple! however), or as other proposed permreset.
    In normal conditions default permissions would be what you have when you install teamspeak3 server or create new virtualserver.
    serverGroups: Server Admin(power 75), Normal(power 50), Guest
    channelGroups: Channel Admin, Operator, Voice(power 25?), Guest

    Your english isn't that bad if you didn't need a dictionary for those posts ;-) I met quite many people afraid to speak in english.....
    Last edited by Tomas; March 9th, 2013 at 08:59 PM. Reason: "in english"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How can i get multiple TS installations?
    By Dylan_Madigan in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 10th, 2014, 11:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •