Forum

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    March 2013
    Posts
    7

    Question How do i change the nickname of a server query?

    Is it possible to change the nickname of a Server Query user so it doesn't show something like :

    "serveradmin from 127.0.0.1:9987 pokes you: blahblahblah"

    I just want to get rid of the "from ip : port" part:

    "serveradmin pokes you: blahblahblah"

    I've tried making another server query user with another nickname, but i still get the "nickname from 127.0.0.1 ..." stuff.

    I am currently using the TS3 PHP Framework on a Debian Squeeze distro to poke every connected user if that helps in some way

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,076
    After selecting the virtual server you can do clientupdate client_nickname=MYNick

  3. #3
    Join Date
    March 2013
    Posts
    7
    It keeps showing me the nickname + local IP + incremental port after updating the nickname

  4. #4
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,076
    You have to use that command after selecting a server, you cannot change your nickname without being on the server. It is also no permanent change, you will have to do it each time.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    March 2013
    Posts
    7
    I just do this:

    telnet localhost 10011

    login NICKNAME PASSWORD

    use sgid=1

    clientupdate client_nickname=NICKNAME

    Then i try to poke some clients. I still see: "NICKNAME from 127.0.0.1:12345 pokes you: blahblahblah"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,076
    Code:
    [[email protected] ~]# telnet external 10011
    Trying external...
    Connected to external.
    Escape character is '^]'.
    TS3
    Welcome to the TeamSpeak 3 ServerQuery interface, type "help" for a list of commands and "help <command>" for information on a specific command.
    login serveradmin myPasswordIsSecret
    error id=0 msg=ok
    use sgid=1
    error id=1540 msg=convert\serror
    clientupdate client_nickname=test
    error id=1024 msg=invalid\sserverID
    use 1
    error id=0 msg=ok
    clientupdate client_nickname=Chris
    error id=0 msg=ok
    clientpoke clid=6 msg=Testing\swhether\sthis\sis\sworking...
    error id=0 msg=ok
    Code:
    <09:28:03>  "Chris" pokes you: Testing whether this is working...
    Works flawlessly here, you do have to use the correct commands though.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    Secret Base in Arctic Region
    Posts
    1,671
    Using another name for ServerQuery Connections always worked here too.

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris
    ... you do have to use the correct commands though.
    Speaking of ->
    use sgid=1
    error id=1540 msg=convert error
    ...

    Have a nice weekend.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    March 2013
    Posts
    7
    I didn't just find the solution, but more important, the real problem

    I was poking the users with the TS3 PHP Framework and every connection to the Query Server is handled as a different connection although i was logging in with the same user in my telnet session

    I found the solution in this post:

    http://forum.teamspeak.com/showthrea...870#post297870

    Thank you for your help!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,076
    Of course, if you connect 50 times, you have 50 users connected... each one must have a unique name.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    March 2012
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    54

    "serveradmin from x.x.x.x:yyyyy" - Any way to change this?

    Hi all.

    I have been working a lot with serverquery lately and creating some automation scripts to improve the user experience for my community.

    After working a bit with client messages from/to the serverquery user, I've come to realize that it looks really ugly to be chatting with someone named "<name> from 123.123.123.123:62411".

    Besides serverquery login name, is there any way to modify so that users do not have to see what IP the user is from?
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by dante696; August 14th, 2014 at 07:09 AM. Reason: merged

  11. #11
    Join Date
    April 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,266
    clientupdate

  12. #12
    Join Date
    January 2016
    Posts
    1

    Change serveradmin query nickname

    Is possible change the text message which says "serveradmin from XXX.XX.XXX.XXX:XXXX" to "serveradmin:"
    I want to remove the IP that appears in the message.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ts.png 
Views:	115 
Size:	1.4 KB 
ID:	13372
    Last edited by dante696; January 7th, 2016 at 07:43 AM. Reason: merged

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 28th, 2015, 04:34 PM
  2. Deny nickname change / Server should set the name
    By GrexAut in forum Permission System
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 29th, 2012, 01:26 PM
  3. Change nickname
    By StarGalaxy[Superman] in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 11th, 2011, 01:08 PM
  4. Change Nickname
    By PoVoD in forum Permission System
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: December 9th, 2010, 07:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •