Forum

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    June 2012
    Posts
    13

    General Questions for finding a hosting plan for installing TeamSpeak3 server

    1) Can I use a web hosting plan to install TeamSpeak 3? If not, what hosting plan is required? Dedicated, VPS, etc?

    2) What are the IDEAL server specs for hosting a 512-man (or at least 100-man) TeamSpeak 3 server? Should this be VPS/Dedicated. I have a limited budget and can't go too far, but still need quality.

    3) What are the most affordable, cost efficient - yet quality insured hosts that are recommended? I'm currently hosting a website over HostGator.

    - Please and thank you for the reply!

    Any help here please?
    Last edited by dante696; January 3rd, 2013 at 12:22 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,080
    You usually cannot use a web hosting plan, as running TeamSpeak requires you to be able to execute applications directly on the server and hence requires shell access, which you usually do not have with web hosting plans... Not to mention that with web hosting plans usually several hundred website plans run on a single machine, which would seriously decrease performance if it is possible in the first place.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    June 2012
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    You usually cannot use a web hosting plan, as running TeamSpeak requires you to be able to execute applications directly on the server and hence requires shell access, which you usually do not have with web hosting plans... Not to mention that with web hosting plans usually several hundred website plans run on a single machine, which would seriously decrease performance if it is possible in the first place.
    Should I be using a VPS I assume?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,080
    A VPS should work as long as it meets the requirements outlined in the System Requirements page.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    June 2012
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    A VPS should work as long as it meets the requirements outlined in the System Requirements page.
    Thank you so much!

    Also, would you know what's the required specs per slot?

    Such as: what's the minimum required to host a 100 -man TeamSpeak 3 server?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,080
    There is no 'per slot' requirements really, obviously the more slots you use the higher the demand on cpu and network but you cannot really express that per slot...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    June 2012
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    317
    For 100 man a VPS with 256mb might do the job. But the problem isn't even the ram. It's the cpu.
    The most I had... around 60 I hitted 20-25% CPU usage on a 3.4ghz single core VPS (with more services like webserver in it).

    If you are interested I use this service: removed
    Excelent so far.
    Last edited by Chris; December 28th, 2012 at 04:23 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    June 2012
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by barricas View Post
    For 100 man a VPS with 256mb might do the job. But the problem isn't even the ram. It's the cpu.
    The most I had... around 60 I hitted 20-25% CPU usage on a 3.4ghz single core VPS (with more services like webserver in it).

    If you are interested I use this service: removed
    Excelent so far.
    Thank you for the info. Are you located in the US or in the UK? I noticed the site you had up had Deutsche available on the top right corner?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    June 2012
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    317
    The datacenter where my server is, is in germany (frankfurt)

    (Sorry mods didn't know I couldn't link to external companies)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    June 2012
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by barricas View Post
    The datacenter where my server is, is in germany (frankfurt)

    (Sorry mods didn't know I couldn't link to external companies)
    Darn. Do you know any Hetzner's alternatives that you could possibly PM me with (located via US- onshore)?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    April 2013
    Location
    Bellevue, WA
    Posts
    1
    Hi barricas,

    Thank you for this great information.
    For 100 man a VPS with 256mb might do the job. But the problem isn't even the ram. It's the cpu.
    The most I had... around 60 I hitted 20-25% CPU usage on a 3.4ghz single core VPS (with more services like webserver in it).

    If you are interested I use this service: removed
    Excelent so far.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Server Setup Help (Shared Hosting Plan)
    By konstantin.metz1 in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 5th, 2015, 07:21 AM
  2. General Questions...
    By XDonutX in forum Permission System
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 17th, 2013, 08:58 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 4th, 2013, 05:04 PM
  4. General questions about Teamspeak 3 Server
    By Ulerond in forum Windows
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 22nd, 2009, 10:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •