Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    The 3rd dimension
    Posts
    956

    [Suggestion] Year measurement for bans and security level increasing "a" to "y"

    To represent years it displays the measurement as "a". I have to assume this refers to the Latin word annum. Since not everyone will understand or even know of this word I suggest you change it to "y" so that people will easily see it represents years.

    A quick change but would make more sense to everyone instead of just people who know the Latin word for year.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    El Prat de Llobregat (Barcelona, Spain)
    Posts
    2,698
    Quote Originally Posted by Morthawt View Post
    Year measurement for bans and security level increasing "a" to "y"

    To represent years it displays the measurement as "a".
    Where have you find that "a"?

    The TS3 client, when you try to ban...

    Tools --> Ban List --> Add
    or
    rightclick --> Ban Client

    you have a selector that offers:

    seconds,
    minutes,
    hours,
    days,
    permanent.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    The 3rd dimension
    Posts
    956
    If you ban someone, when they reconnect it tells them they should retry in ________ well years are denoted as "a" same as when you increase your security level, the time in years is denoted by "a". It will confuse many people.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    El Prat de Llobregat (Barcelona, Spain)
    Posts
    2,698
    Quote Originally Posted by Morthawt View Post
    If you ban someone, when they reconnect it tells them they should retry in ________ well years are denoted as "a" same as when you increase your security level, the time in years is denoted by "a". It will confuse many people.

    Code:
    <21:39:56> You are banned temporarily. Reason: "Por pruebas, nada personal."
    Try again in 3a 249d 23:58:15
    And the message "You are banned temporarily. Reason:" is out of translation, not included in "lagos_xx.ts", it comes directly from the server. Then, double confusion if the user is using a translation.

    At least, for spanish users it matches:
    3 years --> 3 años --> 3a
    249 days --> 249 días --> 249d

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    The 3rd dimension
    Posts
    956
    Yeah it needs fixing then.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,513
    We will not change this.

    We had such a discussion already.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    The 3rd dimension
    Posts
    956
    Ok, a bit strange but ok. This thread is over a year old though, I am surprised it got an official response after all this time for such a simple letter substitution request.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    El Prat de Llobregat (Barcelona, Spain)
    Posts
    2,698
    Quote Originally Posted by Morthawt View Post
    Ok, a bit strange but ok. This thread is over a year old though, I am surprised it got an official response after all this time for such a simple letter substitution request.
    Oh, I think it's not only the letter substitution, it's its inclusion in the lagos_xx.ts.
    This rejected counts by two. ;-)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    The 3rd dimension
    Posts
    956
    No idea what that means.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    El Prat de Llobregat (Barcelona, Spain)
    Posts
    2,698
    Quote Originally Posted by Morthawt View Post
    No idea what that means.
    See my comment in post#4, about including text for translations.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    The 3rd dimension
    Posts
    956
    So it would be a quick fix in the server. My point is the default language of TS is English, so having the initial of the Latin word for year makes zero sense. The reason there is a simpleton mode for doing permissions is because they want to make sure it is as easy as possible for non-advanced computer users. I was never taught Latin in school but I know that annum is year. Not everyone will know that, especially younger people. Disambiguating that simple change sounded like a common sense deal to me, but I guess not and was so important to keep it as "a" that it was needed to revive this year old thread just to mention it. No big deal, having a instead of y does not bother me in the slightest, I was merely recommending something to make it better for everyone else.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 8th, 2015, 10:39 AM
  2. [Resolved] Add "Channel" Text Location to "Sent poke" and back to "Received poke"
    By PatPeter in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 9th, 2013, 06:09 AM
  3. Can I use "whisper" to enable a "Public" and "Private" channel?
    By DadisAjax in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 28th, 2012, 11:59 PM
  4. "Soft" Security level
    By PatrickW in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 17th, 2010, 03:08 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 22nd, 2009, 05:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •