Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    October 2013
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation Another "Failed to Connect to Server" question

    I have recently re-installed TS server (x64) and I am unable to connect to it. Here are the steps I took:

    1. Downloaded the newest version and extracted the zip into it's default folder and placed in on my C drive.
    2. Placed my old NPL file into the folder containing the server EXE.
    3. Ran the initial installation of the TS 3 server.
    4. Ensured that all my ports are forwarded in my router properly (All are external and internal ports): 9987 UDP; 30033 TCP; 10011 TCP.
    5. Ensured that my PC is running a static IP (192.168.1.42) in TCP IPv4 settings, restarted PC and ensure settings stuck.
    6. Verified my modem does not have any settings that would need to be also set (It has no router/firewall type abilities).
    7. Allowed the TS server through Windows Firewall (no other firewall software installed).
    8. Ran/Started the TS server as admin.
    9. Verified my internal and external IP's (and port, 9987) were set properly within the TS client.
    10. Using a 3rd party program verified that the port 9987 on UDP was open.
    11. Started and verified the TS server is running.
    12. After trying for a while I even attempted to add a whitelist to the default install folder (where the exe is located) the file name is: query_ip_whitelist.txt and I included three entries: 127.0.0.1, internal IP 192.168.1.42, and external IP. - Note - I shut down the TSserver, created the file and it's entries then re-started the TS server
    13. TS Client: Failed to connect to server.

    I am at a loss of what to try next, I have double and triple checked settings, ports, port forwarding, IP addressed (internal and external) etc and to no avail. Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can get my server up and running, I've looked at many topics here and havent found anything I havent already tried.

    Here are some system specs if anyone would need to know:
    OS - Windows 8 (fully updated)
    Intel i7 3770K
    32g Ram
    2x ATI graphics cards in crossfire
    Asus DX 7.1 soundcard
    1x SSD and 2x 7200 RPM storage drives

  2. #2
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    El Prat de Llobregat (Barcelona, Spain)
    Posts
    2,698
    Quote Originally Posted by Fingersniffer View Post
    13. TS Client: Failed to connect to server.
    If you are connecting from inside your LAN, then better:
    a) if the client is in the same PC as the server, use localhost
    b) if the client is other PC, or mobile by wi-fi, use the internal IP 192.168.1.42.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    October 2013
    Posts
    4
    The server is on the same PC as the client.

    I tried connecting using the address of "localhost" and "127.0.0.1" neither worked as well as "192.168.1.42" for good measure. Always returning the "Failed to connect to server"


    --==UPDATE==--
    I reinstalled TS again, this time not placing my NPL file in the directory and now the TS server works. Do NPL licenses cause this sort of issue? Or do they expire then cause this issue?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    April 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,266
    Are you sure, that:

    1. The server is running on udp 9987?
    2. The windows firewall acceptcs incoming and outgoing pakets on udp 9987?
    3. Have you tried to establish a telnet session to localhost 10011?
    4. Does "netstat -aon" show the udp port 9987 and the correct pid of teamspeak?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    October 2013
    Posts
    4
    I tested this again both using my NPL .dat file and again without, it is the license file that makes the server non-functional.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    769
    From a command prompt run 'netstat -an' (without the quotes)

    Amongst all the other information, and if your TS server is running and listening on localhost and it's assigned IP, you should see the lines

    UDP 127.0.0.1:9987 *:*
    UDP 192.168.1.42:9987 *:*

    If you don't see these the server's probably not running

  7. #7
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    El Prat de Llobregat (Barcelona, Spain)
    Posts
    2,698
    Quote Originally Posted by Fingersniffer View Post
    The server is on the same PC as the client.

    I tried connecting using the address of "localhost" and "127.0.0.1" neither worked as well as "192.168.1.42" for good measure. Always returning the "Failed to connect to server"


    --==UPDATE==--
    I reinstalled TS again, this time not placing my NPL file in the directory and now the TS server works. Do NPL licenses cause this sort of issue? Or do they expire then cause this issue?
    If server and client are in the same PC and localhost "fails" then --> the server is not running.

    First at all, verify in the subdirectory /logs, the _0 file, something like ts3server_2013-09-16__05_50_40.194649_0

    The contents has to indicate the server is really running... not containing messages about "stop", "shutdown" or similar.
    Code:
    2013-09-16 05:50:40.194649|INFO    |ServerLibPriv |   | TeamSpeak 3 Server 3.0.9 (2013-09-10 09:13:25)
    2013-09-16 05:50:40.195649|INFO    |ServerLibPriv |   | SystemInformation: Windows 7 SP1 (7601) x86 Binary: 32bit
    2013-09-16 05:50:40.195649|INFO    |ServerLibPriv |   | Using hardware aes
    2013-09-16 05:50:40.195649|INFO    |DatabaseQuery |   | dbPlugin name:    SQLite3 plugin, Version 2, (c)TeamSpeak Systems GmbH
    2013-09-16 05:50:40.195649|INFO    |DatabaseQuery |   | dbPlugin version: 3.7.3
    2013-09-16 05:50:40.196650|INFO    |DatabaseQuery |   | checking database integrity (may take a while)
    2013-09-16 05:50:41.121702|INFO    |Accounting    |   | Licensing Information
    2013-09-16 05:50:41.121702|INFO    |Accounting    |   | type              : Non-profit
    2013-09-16 05:50:41.121702|INFO    |Accounting    |   | starting date     : Thu Jun 20 00:00:00 2013
    2013-09-16 05:50:41.121702|INFO    |Accounting    |   | ending date       : Sun Dec 22 00:00:00 2013
    2013-09-16 05:50:41.121702|INFO    |Accounting    |   | max virtualservers: 10
    2013-09-16 05:50:41.121702|INFO    |Accounting    |   | max slots         : 512
    2013-09-16 05:50:42.472780|INFO    |              |   | Puzzle precompute time: 1340
    2013-09-16 05:50:42.472780|INFO    |FileManager   |   | listening on 0.0.0.0:30033
    2013-09-16 05:50:42.711793|INFO    |CIDRManager   |   | updated query_ip_whitelist ips: 127.0.0.1, (-deleted-), 
    2013-09-16 05:50:42.712793|INFO    |Query         |   | listening on 0.0.0.0:10011

  8. #8
    Join Date
    October 2013
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Air SeaTac View Post
    From a command prompt run 'netstat -an' (without the quotes)

    Amongst all the other information, and if your TS server is running and listening on localhost and it's assigned IP, you should see the lines

    UDP 127.0.0.1:9987 *:*
    UDP 192.168.1.42:9987 *:*

    If you don't see these the server's probably not running
    When using the server WITH the license file it does not display the lines you stated, in fact it does not display the port 9987 anywhere. But when using a server that I can connect to that does not use the license file I do see the line:

    UDP 0.0.0.0:9987 *:*

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 8th, 2015, 11:39 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 26th, 2015, 10:06 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 28th, 2015, 04:00 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 1st, 2014, 11:28 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 17th, 2013, 10:37 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •