Forum

Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Allowing users to create a sub-channel, but not a main channel.

Hey!

First off, I'd just like to say that I'm new to TS as a whole. I've used it a few times on other servers, and have been assigned to make one for a game server that I help run. Because of this, the problem I'm having probably has a really simple answer.

So, what I want to do is make it possible so that users can create their own sub-channels in main channels (that are created by me), for their own uses. I have no idea how to do this, so any help would be great.

Thanks!

Hello,

Depending on how you wanna restrict this permissions you can do it with Server Groups (users can create sub-channels in all of the server's "main channels") or Channel Groups (you can choose in which "main channel" users can create sub-channels):

1. Copy the Guest Group (in Server Groups or Channel Groups - you decission)
    2. activate/check b_channel_create_child (to make users able to create sub-channels at all)
    3. you need i_channel_min_depth to restrict in which part of the channel-tree users can create a channel, Example:

Your Server (depth = 0)
    - Main Channel 1 (depth = 1)
    -- Sub Channel 1 (depth = 2)
    --- Sub-sub Channel (depth = 3)
    -- Sub Channel 2 (depth = 2)
    - Main Channel 2 (depth = 1)
    -- Sub Channel 1 (depth = 2)
    - Main Channel 3 (depth = 1)

As the explanation above shows you need to set i_channel_min_depth to 1 (channel must be depth = 1 to create a sub-channel).
    4. If you want the channel the users created to be permanent (won't vanish when no user is inside) add b_channel_create_permanent. The rest of the permissions required to create a channel should be default.
    5. Assign the created group to users.

lg
    Istalantar