Forum

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    October 2011
    Posts
    18

    Opus 1.1 and SSL

    As Opus 1.1 is now released, it would be cool to have TS use it. Also it's time for SSL support.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    April 2011
    Location
    Brasil
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by Razilla View Post
    As Opus 1.1 is now released, it would be cool to have TS use it. Also it's time for SSL support.
    +1 Update to 1.1 [
    .::: ChangeLog :::.

    new analysis code and tuning that significantly improves encoding quality, especially for variable-bitrate (VBR),
    automatic detection of speech or music to decide which encoding mode to use,
    surround with good quality at 128 kbps for 5.1 and usable down to 48 kbps, and
    speed improvements on all architectures, especially ARM, where decoding uses around 40% less CPU and encoding uses around 30% less CPU.
    These improvements are explained in more details in Monty's demo (updated from the 1.1 beta demo).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    July 2012
    Posts
    6
    I hope this gets added soon! This should be high up on their to-do list. I hope they also add in an option to use variable-bitrate encoding considering that was improved a lot, it would be good for bandwidth usage.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,002
    48kbps bitrate?... Good codec? How about "utterly useless"? Or do they think everyone have 100Mbit internet?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    132
    48 kbps = 6 KB/s

    You don't need 100 Mbit, an ancient ISDN line will also do. Current Opus codec at the highest level uses 7.71 KB/s.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,002
    Thanks, I know how to count bytes.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    132
    Didn't look like it in your previous post.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,002
    That's because you forgot take off your high horse.
    Even in the center of a big city, 33.6kbps connect could be a blessing.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    132
    Or not, as 33.6 is hardly a blessing.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,076
    You seem to ignore that kbps is actually kilobitspersecond. Seeing how it takes 8 of them to make a single byte (which really ain't all that much :P ) 33.6kbps is hardly anything at all. Let's just say you wouldn't be able to post as much as you have been in your entire life with that kind of internet speed
    When sending PMs please make sure to include a reference link to the thread in question in the body of your message.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    April 2014
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    You seem to ignore that kbps is actually kilobitspersecond. Seeing how it takes 8 of them to make a single byte (which really ain't all that much :P ) 33.6kbps is hardly anything at all. Let's just say you wouldn't be able to post as much as you have been in your entire life with that kind of internet speed
    Despite the jeopordy of subtracting from the current attention being given to one of the classics, might I refocus the original idea (esp. since a TS team member has seen this): Any conversation going around about Opus v1.1 in those nifty dev meetings over there? Just wondering if it's even on the radar or whatnot.

    I know several communities what would appreciated this added capacity/efficiency.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,076
    SSL is already in the client since a few builds.
    As far as Opus is concerned it will happen eventually, but as usual no definite date.
    When sending PMs please make sure to include a reference link to the thread in question in the body of your message.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    132
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    You seem to ignore that kbps is actually kilobitspersecond.
    Do you refer to me? I know that 33.6 are kbps, I had a modem with that speed, before switching to a 56k one.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    April 2014
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    SSL is already in the client since a few builds.
    As far as Opus is concerned it will happen eventually, but as usual no definite date.
    Enc works great! Thanks for the usual, BUT appreciated and (quick!) response. Glad it's down the road.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Help?] Opus Voice > Opus Music!?
    By Vinni_ in forum Client Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 13th, 2014, 11:57 PM
  2. [Rejected] Opus 1.1, Opus Voice Stereo, Server-side smiles
    By KIDINK^ in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: October 27th, 2014, 11:11 AM
  3. Opus Codec
    By RadarGaming in forum General Questions
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: September 7th, 2013, 01:47 PM
  4. [Rejected] Opus is great but...
    By jayw_1998 in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: May 16th, 2013, 06:52 PM
  5. When to use Opus Voice?
    By Djinndrache in forum General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 8th, 2013, 08:14 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •