Forum

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    El Prat de Llobregat (Barcelona, Spain)
    Posts
    2,698

    _tsdns SRV record in Android

    Is there any plan to include the "_tsdns SRV record" resolution in the Android client?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,003
    This should work already.
    Was included in beta 13 from 03.2013
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    El Prat de Llobregat (Barcelona, Spain)
    Posts
    2,698
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    This should work already.
    Was included in beta 13 from 03.2013
    Was included the "SRV Record", the _ts3._udp.

    In my tablet, at least, the _tsdns SRV, the _tsdns._tcp, doesn't work.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,003
    tcp? Why tcp, the client does use udp.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    El Prat de Llobregat (Barcelona, Spain)
    Posts
    2,698
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    tcp? Why tcp, the client does use udp.
    Taken directly from "TSDNS\Readme.txt":
    Code:
    SRV Records are not only supported to direct you to a TS3 server, but also to
    direct you to a TSDNS server, creating a double redirect situation. This
    allows you to run the TSDNS server on arbitrary machines and hosts, while
    still "servicing" the domain you wish. To add a SRV record that directs to your
    TSDNS server, use the following format:
    "_tsdns._tcp.teamspeak.com. 86400 IN SRV 0 0 41144 voice.teamspeak.com."
    There are two types of SRV Record:
    the "normal" one: _ts3._udp.* --> this already works in Android
    the TSDNS one: _tsdns._tcp.* --> this, not yet.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,003
    Will send it to our android developer.
    I thought it is possible already.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,003
    This feature is included and should work.
    We can use the android client to connect to such a "_tsdns._tcp.*" address.

    Can you send me your "_tsdns._tcp." address in a private message?
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    El Prat de Llobregat (Barcelona, Spain)
    Posts
    2,698
    Quote Originally Posted by dante696 View Post
    Can you send me your "_tsdns._tcp." address in a private message?
    Of course. Done!

    I'm afraid the Android client is resolving the _tsdns._tcp record as if it was a _ts3._udp one.

    As you can verify something is resolving but it's not the correct resolution.

    I've activated de "Log" option but in the log files there isn't information about the addressname/IP the client is connecting to.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    20
    Thx for your report PotaBlava, i found the bug and was able to fix it. Now we need to verify it all over again I hope i can at least give out a beta soon.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,003
    The next beta client or stable client should fix all your issues.
    Thank you for the reports.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    20
    Ok i pushed it to the beta stage (Join the beta)
    Give Google up to 24h and you should get an update.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    El Prat de Llobregat (Barcelona, Spain)
    Posts
    2,698
    Quote Originally Posted by Simon View Post
    Ok i pushed it to the beta stage (Join the beta)
    Give Google up to 24h and you should get an update.
    At last, I've got the beta app: 3.0.14 - XXX

    Unfortunately it fails when the first subdomain hasn't a _tsdns._tcp record and it has to search for the record associated to the domain and this one exists.

    Invented example:
    _tsdns._tcp.sub1.domain.com doesn't exist but
    _tsdns._tcp.domain.com yes

    I give you by PM the log from the PC Client that resolves a working example.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    20
    Found the bug.
    Expect a new beta in the next 1-2 Days (maybe today, ask your store )
    Last edited by Simon; January 13th, 2014 at 10:15 AM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Location
    El Prat de Llobregat (Barcelona, Spain)
    Posts
    2,698
    Quote Originally Posted by Simon View Post
    Found the bug.
    Expect a new beta in the next 1-2 Days (maybe today, ask your store )
    I've got it. It says still 3.0.14 - XXX but now all my tests with _tsdns._tcp have work.

    Unfortunately it fails when a normal TSDSN server resolves a non existing DNS:
    Invented example:
    yatqa_tsdns3.domain.com ---> a TSDNS server resolves --> voice3.teamspeak.com:9988 and the app says "invalid server password" when there isn't any server to connect to.

    As usual I give you by PM the log from the PC client that "resolves" (in this case it fails, as expected) a working example.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,003
    I can't resolve that address with my Android client.
    I guess the same thing happens on my device. Nothing was found here.

    PC log:
    Code:
    13.01.2014 15:42:16	ClientUI	Info	Connect to server: yatqa_tsdns3.domain.com	
    13.01.2014 15:42:16	ClientUI	Info	Trying to resolve yatqa_tsdns3.domain.com	
    13.01.2014 15:42:17	TSDNS	Info	SRV DNS resolve unsuccessful for "_ts3._udp.yatqa_tsdns3.domain.com"	
    13.01.2014 15:42:17	TSDNS	Info	No SRV TSDNS found at "_tsdns._tcp.domain.com"	
    13.01.2014 15:42:17	TSDNS	Info	No SRV TSDNS found at "_tsdns._tcp.yatqa_tsdns3.domain.com"	
    13.01.2014 15:42:17	TSDNS	Info	DNS resolve unsuccessful for "yatqa_tsdns3.domain.com"	
    13.01.2014 15:42:17	TSDNS	Info	No TSDNS found at "yatqa_tsdns3.domain.com"	
    13.01.2014 15:42:18	TSDNS	Info	No TSDNS found at "domain.com"	
    13.01.2014 15:42:18	ClientUI	Info	Lookup finished:  9987  0 2	
    13.01.2014 15:42:18	ClientUI	Info	Failed to resolve yatqa_tsdns3.domain.com
    Android log
    Code:
    INFO: 0 -> ERROR TS_TYPE_DIRECT: yatqa_tsdns3.domain.com
    13.01.2014 15:50:59 com.teamspeak.ts3client.tsdns.i run
    INFO: 9 -> ERROR TS_TYPE_SRVTS3: _ts3._udp.yatqa_tsdns3.domain.com
    13.01.2014 15:50:59 com.teamspeak.ts3client.tsdns.i run
    INFO: 5 -> ERROR TS_TYPE_SRVTSDNS: _tsdns._tcp.yatqa_tsdns3.domain.com
    13.01.2014 15:50:59 com.teamspeak.ts3client.tsdns.i run
    INFO: 6 -> ERROR TS_TYPE_SRVTSDNS: _tsdns._tcp.yatqa_tsdns3.domain.com
    13.01.2014 15:50:59 com.teamspeak.ts3client.tsdns.i run
    INFO: 2 -> ERROR TS_TYPE_TSDNS: yatqa_tsdns3.domain.com
    13.01.2014 15:50:59 com.teamspeak.ts3client.tsdns.i run
    INFO: 7 -> ERROR TS_TYPE_SRVTSDNS: _tsdns._tcp.yatqa_tsdns3.domain.com
    13.01.2014 15:50:59 com.teamspeak.ts3client.tsdns.i run
    INFO: 3 -> ERROR TS_TYPE_TSDNS: yatqa_tsdns3.domain.com
    13.01.2014 15:50:59 com.teamspeak.ts3client.tsdns.i run
    INFO: 1 -> ERROR TS_TYPE_TSDNS: yatqa_tsdns3.domain.com
    Last edited by dante696; January 13th, 2014 at 02:57 PM.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. SRV Record
    By Promptly in forum Server Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: May 31st, 2014, 03:26 PM
  2. [Resolved] DNS TXT/SRV Record
    By theWeird in forum Suggestions and Feedback
    Replies: 75
    Last Post: April 11th, 2014, 01:39 PM
  3. How is the _tsdns SRV Record managed by the client?
    By PotaBlava in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 8th, 2014, 06:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •