Forum

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 27 of 27
  1. #16
    Join Date
    January 2006
    Location
    US
    Posts
    1

    Angry Confused on how to get CS and TS2 to work together

    I am very confused on how to get TS2 to work with playback/capture and still have CS to output all of the sound. I tried using that link you guys provided, but I just have no clue what to do. I dont' wanna mess things up. Could you please take a look? Here is my info:http://pastebin.com/515651

  2. #17
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2
    Hi, I just got teamspeak and it all works fine but I get this problem too. I've read the FAQ and read that info from the link(which doesn't work btw, but I looked around) using the echo trick, but it still wont work. I hear you can use a sound blaster Live! card but can't get one of those. I only have onboard sound and I don't understand about hardware mixing and such things.

    Anywho, Kinfo tells me I've got a Type 10: Alsa emulation driver, My audio device is a Nvidia CK804 (DUPLEX) and I've got a Realtek ALC655 rev 0 Mixer. I have no idea what most of that means but hopefully it's helpful.

    What I did was kill all my apps using sound, afaik, did
    Code:
    echo 'et.x86 0 0 direct' > /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/oss
    echo 'et.x86 0 0 disable' > /proc/asound/card0/pcm0c/oss
    as root, then I started TS, then the game, Enemy Territory. Ts works fine but I have no sound in ET. Have I done anything wrong or is there anything else I can try other than getting a new sound card? I read about getting artsd or esd, well I used synaptic to get artsd and installed it but it still doesn't work, do I have to run it or something?

    Please excuse my absolute noobness to Linux, I've only just switched, I would still be using Windows(where TS worked perfect) but ET wont work on that for me

    Anyway, if anyone can help I would really appreciate it, thanks for your time,

    ~evo

  3. #18
    Join Date
    June 2002
    Location
    KE
    Posts
    33
    The location of the HOWTO has changed:

    http://www.linux-gamers.net/modules/...ge=HOWTO+Sound

  4. #19
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2
    Thanks for the link, that wasn't the one I found. I followed everything in that HOW-TO and managed to get TS working under /dev/dsp0 (afaik) but now my game wont produce any sound atall. Even without TS or anything else which uses sound running.

    Usually I have to run "echo 'et.x86 0 0 direct' > /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/oss" before playing ET to give me sound but even after I do this it wont work. In that HOw-TO it says to run the game using "artsdsp -m et" but when I try to run that, both as root or user, I get "artsdsp works only for binaries". So I'm really confused right now, I have no idea if it's worked or not because I cant get sound in ET to test it. Also I had to change "echo 'et.x86 0 0 direct' > /proc/asound/card0/pcm1p/oss"(which that guide says to run) to pcm0p otherwise it would say the file doesn't exist.

    Any suggestions?

    ~evo

  5. #20
    Join Date
    June 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1

    Lightbulb solution for ALSA/OSS mixing problems!

    In Debian, ther is a package called "alsa-oss".
    after installing this and calling teamspeak using
    the alsa oss wrapper "aoss" one can have real multi-usage of the soundcard,
    as the oss output of teamspeak is wrapped into the new ALSA system.

    start teamspeak 2 client using
    a litte wrapper script like this:
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    #
    # This startup script will set the correct library path
    # and then startup the teamspeak binary.
    #
    # Author: Florian Harbich for teamspeak support forum
    # this script can be freely used and modified
    # as long as this reference to me is kept.
    #
    
    ##### config section
    
    # path where ts2 client is installed
    TS2_INSTALLDIR="/home/flo/bin/TeamSpeak2RC2"
    
    ##### do not modify below this line
    
    # remove trailing / from dirname
    TS2_INSTALLDIR=${TS2_INSTALLDIR%/}
    
    # set dynamic library path to include ts2 install dir
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$TS2_INSTALLDIR:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
    
    # start ts2 client using alsa oss wrapper
    aoss $TS2_INSTALLPATH/TeamSpeak.bin "[email protected]"
    (see http://alsa.sourceforge.net for more information)

  6. #21
    Join Date
    November 2006
    Location
    Europe.Poland.Zabrze
    Posts
    3
    selecting "ALSA" from manu would be a way to have it

  7. #22
    Join Date
    November 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    11
    Just a crazy idea: couldn't the interface to the sound backend be made open? Surely, it would be rather easy to define an interface that could then be implemented in a library without exposing trade secrets. That way, a similar situation could be avoided at least for TS3.

    How "fat" would that abstraction layer need to be? It would require interfaces to dump the decoded audio stream into and read an uncompressed stream from an audio device and maybe set some parameters like volume or toggle mute. That is all rather trivial stuff that could be done by the community, given a sufficient documentation and perhaps a sample implementation. In return, it would make TS a bit more independent from the rather quickly-changing world of interfaces in Linux. (Honestly, I can understand some companies refusing to make software or even drivers for Linux, even the kernel is changing interfaces on a weekly basis...)

    What I wouldn't like to see is absolute reliance on another single "standard" like OSS, ALSA, OpenAL or others, especially if the development and maintenance cycle remains as long as it is.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    March 2007
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    5
    The solution to this whole mess is really simple.....The TS devs need to stop using the incredibly dated OSS and make the TS client support ALSA. Then all linux users can have access without all the headaches. If you are running a linux system and not running ALSA for your sound drivers, then update your linux system. If and when the client supports ALSA, then users can do what they wish to mix sound....dmix, JACK, etc....

    If the TS devs care anything about the linux community, they will make TS3 support ALSA. That is if it is ever ready :P

  9. #24
    Join Date
    March 2007
    Location
    brazil
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Malachy29 View Post
    The solution to this whole mess is really simple.....The TS devs need to stop using the incredibly dated OSS and make the TS client support ALSA. Then all linux users can have access without all the headaches. If you are running a linux system and not running ALSA for your sound drivers, then update your linux system. If and when the client supports ALSA, then users can do what they wish to mix sound....dmix, JACK, etc....

    If the TS devs care anything about the linux community, they will make TS3 support ALSA. That is if it is ever ready :P
    I agree with you Malachy29. I hope that they could do an update to TS2 for alsa support. I'm quite exausted to wait for the TS3 i would like a alsa support for ts2 now... I pass almost 85% on linux working and my company use TS in order to comunicate... so few of us (in hte company) live in UK...
    Last edited by Setlec; August 1st, 2007 at 12:15 PM.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    October 2009
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    1
    Umm i dont..

  11. #26
    Join Date
    October 2006
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    37
    I was using wine for at least 3 years, and guess what, last time I tried aoss was at least 3 years ago.
    What changed:
    • Now I'm using 64bits, although client is 32 (damn!)
    • Another distribution
    • Updated tools


    What happens now is what is supposed to happen, it works! It simply works, my problem was laziness, as it turns out I haven't really tried everything when I said I did.I'm using "aoss /opt/bin/TeamSpeak", and, dmix and dsnoop as software mixers from alsa plugins, here is my /etc/asound.conf:
    Code:
    pcm.!default {          
            type plug       
            slave.pcm "multiplex"
            hint {               
                    show on      
                    description "default default"
            }                                           
    }                                                   
    
    ctl.!default {
        type hw   
        card 0    
        device 0  
    }             
    
    pcm.multiplex {
       type asym   
       playback.pcm "dmixer"
       capture.pcm "dsnooper"
        hint {               
            show on          
            description "default multiplex"
        }                                  
    }                                      
    
    ctl.multiplex {
        type hw
        card 0
        device 0
    }
    
    pcm.dmixer  {
            type dmix
            ipc_key 1024
            ipc_key_add_uid 1
            slave {          
                    pcm "hw:0,0"
                    period_time 0
                    period_size 1024
                    buffer_size 4096
                    rate 44100      
            }                       
            bindings {              
                    0 0             
                    1 1             
            }                       
            hint {                  
                    show on         
                    description "default dmixer"
            }                                   
    }                                           
    
    ctl.dmixer {
            type hw
            card 0 
            device 0
    }               
    
    pcm.dsnooper {
            type dsnoop
            ipc_key 2048
            ipc_key_add_uid 1
            slave {          
                    pcm "hw:0,0"
                    channels 2
                    period_size 1024 # 8192 # 1024
                    buffer_size 4096
                    rate 44100
                    periods 0
                    period_time 0
            }
            bindings {
                    0 0
                    1 1
            }
        hint {
            show on
            description "default dsnooper"
        }
    }
    
    ctl.dsnooper {
        type hw
        card 0
        device 0
    }
    
    pcm.dsp0 {
       type plug
       slave.pcm "multiplex"
       bindings {
           0 0
           1 1
       }
        hint {
            show on
            description "default dsp0"
        }
    }
    
    ctl.dsp0 {
            type hw
            card 0
            device 0
    }
    I got lots of information online, but as resources very few were as useful as the Alsa Project Wiki, I'm going to just list some direct links below:

    http://alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Asoundrc - My asound.conf skeleton (not changed from 1 to 2)
    http://ja.pastebin.ca/603181 - My first try model (work does not, here)
    http://www.xs4all.nl/~mfnboer/twinkle/asound.html - My second try model (work it does do, here)


    To me it's late but good news, aoss never really worked here. Still, I'm glad TeamSpeak 3 will natively support ALSA (and 64bits, C++, QT, Encryption Certificates... Let's hope it never lags behind this much again!).
    Last edited by morris; October 22nd, 2009 at 10:41 AM.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    December 2009
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    1

    Run in ALSA

    run in terminal:
    aoss teamspeak

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. No sound (ALSA)
    By bobshaffer in forum Linux
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 15th, 2010, 07:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •