Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    January 2012
    Posts
    4

    ToDo List OSX - Client freezes but still works

    This started for me right away with the newest update but I waited until now to post as I figured there may be a fix on the way. I guess not.

    Here is what happens - after the client has been running for a little while the interface freezes, but the client continues to function otherwise. It looks kinda like I am looking at a screenshot, nothing is updated. I can click to get to a channel but just don't see it. People who leave or move to another channel do so, but it looks to me like they are where they were when the interface stopped updating.

    The only fix for this is to quit the client and restart it.

    Thanks for any considerations.

    Tommy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    September 2012
    Posts
    6,079
    Please post the client log.
    When sending PMs please make sure to include a reference link to the thread in question in the body of your message.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    January 2012
    Posts
    4
    Here it is:

    2014-04-02 03:51:18.114385|INFO | | | TeamSpeak 3 Client 3.0.14 (2014-03-12 11:49:03)
    2014-04-02 03:51:18.114573|INFO | | | SystemInformation: Darwin 10.8.0 Darwin Kernel Version 10.8.0: Tue Jun 7 16:33:36 PDT 2011; root:xnu-1504.15.3~1/RELEASE_I386 i386 Binary: 64bit
    2014-04-02 03:51:18.327177|INFO | | | Loading plugin: libappscanner_plugin
    2014-04-02 03:51:18.327258|INFO | | | Loading plugin: libclientquery_plugin
    2014-04-02 03:51:18.327294|INFO | | | Loading plugin: liblua_plugin
    2014-04-02 03:51:18.327329|INFO | | | Loading plugin: libtest_plugin
    2014-04-02 03:51:19.909572|INFO | | | *** Time [MAINWINDOW]: 588
    2014-04-02 03:51:19.909659|INFO | | | *** Time [INIT]: 588
    2014-04-02 03:51:20.165714|INFO |ClientUI | | Qt version: 5.2.1
    2014-04-02 03:51:20.165798|INFO |ClientUI | | Using configuration location: /Users/xxx/Library/Application Support/TeamSpeak 3/settings.db
    2014-04-02 03:51:20.411280|INFO |ClientUI | | Last update check was: Wed Apr 2 01:38:41 2014
    2014-04-02 03:51:24.722180|INFO |ClientUI | 1| Connect to server: 173.45.74.2
    2014-04-02 03:51:24.734805|INFO |ClientUI | 1| Blacklist check ok
    2014-04-02 03:51:24.734889|INFO |ClientUI | 1| Initiating connection: 173.45.74.2:9987 173.45.74.2
    2014-04-02 03:51:24.764051|INFO |Core Audio | | No speakers assigned to channels. Please do this in AUDIO MIDI SETUP of osx. Defaulting to stereo for now failure: (0) noErr

    2014-04-02 03:51:24.764155|INFO |Core Audio | | Opened playback device with 2 channels at 44100 Hz
    2014-04-02 03:51:24.764218|DEBUG |Core Audio | | BufferFrameSizeRange = 14, 6144
    2014-04-02 03:51:24.883173|INFO |Core Audio | | Opened capture device with 1 channels at 16000 Hz
    2014-04-02 03:51:24.883272|DEBUG |Core Audio | | BufferFrameSizeRange = 5, 3072
    2014-04-02 03:51:24.883412|INFO |PreProSpeex | 1| Speex version: 1.2rc1
    2014-04-02 03:51:24.887372|INFO |ClientUI | 1| Connect status: Connecting
    2014-04-02 03:51:25.127506|DEVELOP |PktHandler | | Puzzle solve time: 12
    2014-04-02 03:51:25.461951|INFO |ClientUI | 1| Connect status: Connected
    2014-04-02 03:51:25.465133|INFO |ClientUI | 1| Connect status: Establishing connection
    2014-04-02 03:51:25.585474|INFO |ClientUI | 1| Connect status: Connection established
    2014-04-02 03:51:25.630038|INFO |PermManager | | Loading permissions from cache
    2014-04-02 04:19:45.779191|INFO |ClientUI | 1| Connect status: Disconnected
    2014-04-02 04:19:45.848626|INFO |ClientUI | 1| Disconnected or forced to leave, want autoreconnect = 0
    2014-04-02 04:19:46.016345|INFO |Bookmarks | | Disconnect, total time: 1700 - 6807198

  4. #4
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,513
    Does it freeze in the same moment after beeing connected to the server?

    The only thing i see in your logs is that error in your Audio Midi Setup from OS X itself.
    2014-04-02 03:51:24.764051|INFO |Core Audio | | No speakers assigned to channels. Please do this in AUDIO MIDI SETUP of osx. Defaulting to stereo for now failure: (0) noErr
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    January 2012
    Posts
    4
    I found out more, so now I guess this is a bug report.

    If I do a command-H to hide the app this is when the interface freeze occurs. As I said before the app is still functioning but the interface is frozen and will not come back until I quit and re-launch the app. If I minus / minimize the app or just leave it on screen, this does not happen.

    So the fix for now is to minimize the app and not hide it. Easier said than done as it is habit to hide, but until this gets fixed it will do.

    T

  6. #6
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,513
    You are right!
    Now it is a bugreport, because i can reproduce it too. Thank you.
    I will create a ticket for that.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,513
    We found out, that this is a QT5 problem in relation with OSX 10.6.X.
    It's not reproducable with newer OSX versions.

    We can't fix this.
    Last edited by dante696; July 10th, 2014 at 02:21 PM. Reason: edit
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    July 2014
    Posts
    1
    Hello,
    My client doesn't freeze when I connect to a server, but I realized that it does freeze every single time i'd use the "command (cmd) + H" command to hide the application. It'll be great if this can be solved in a future update.

    EDIT: So the issue comes from the OS i'm using. Ok thanks for the info.
    Last edited by Cap0ne; July 10th, 2014 at 05:39 PM. Reason: update

  9. #9
    Join Date
    November 2014
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs down Frozen UI issue is still alive and kicking.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cap0ne View Post
    Hello,
    My client doesn't freeze when I connect to a server, but I realized that it does freeze every single time i'd use the "command (cmd) + H" command to hide the application. It'll be great if this can be solved in a future update.

    EDIT: So the issue comes from the OS i'm using. Ok thanks for the info.
    This issue exhibits itself consistently in 10.9, and in the new Yosemite build. Regardless of whether the client is in the background or not. It happens usually after the client has been left on, or connected to a server for a while, intervals are random.
    I have the same conclusion as a previous user posted here, only thing that fixes it is to kill the client and restart.
    I can still talk to users of whatever channel I am, mute or un-mute the client, as long as I do not have to use the TS window directly since the UI portion is frozen and unresponsive. The menu bar interactions still work.
    Process window does not show anything abnormal happening, unresponsive processes, abnormal cpu usage ETC.

    So I am confused as to why the OP thinks the problem is gone.
    I would wager if these two OS builds do this, then 10.8, 10.7 probably do the same.

    MacBook Pro 2013/2014, 16 gigs of ram, 512gb ssd, core i7 cpu. (Maverix and now Yosemite.)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Resolved] PS4 controller freezes client
    By Saphirahk in forum Windows
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 24th, 2015, 06:54 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: December 23rd, 2011, 01:15 AM
  3. Client freezes after startup
    By Zeus6666 in forum macOS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 10th, 2010, 03:19 PM
  4. windows 7 64 bit ts3 client freezes
    By shark03 in forum Windows
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: January 8th, 2010, 10:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •