Forum


Notice to all users

We are migrating towards a new forum system located at community.teamspeak.com, as such this forum will become read-only on January 29, 2020

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    April 2014
    Posts
    12

    Microphone not working in build 3.0.14

    Hi guys, sorry if this is the wrong section but this is bugging me, pun intended.

    I recently purchased the AT2020 microphone and its amazing. My problem is that TS3 version 3.0.14 will not pick up my voice, if and when it does it's either really quiet, really static-y, or of poor quality. A previous microphone worked on version 3.0.14 no dramas.

    Among trying all the settings under the sun I was unable to fix my issue until I uninstalled version 3.0.14 and reinstalled version 3.0.7, which I happened to have on my PC. The microphone instantly worked! Super clear, super perfect.

    Unfortunately I'm unable to join my desired TS3 server as I need to be running version 3.0.14 to connect, I installed the correct version and I am back to square one.

    Any help would be amazing, this is really annoying me.

    Just to add, the microphone works like a charm in Ventrilo, Skype, Steam VoIP, and of course through my soundcard drivers.

    Thanks for your time,
    VYYBZ

  2. #2
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,513
    This could be a problem with our latest speex version. It was updated in client 3.0.14.
    But it's only a guess from us.

    Can you give us some details?
    - What operation system do you use?
    - Is your microphone listed unter "Settings > Options > Capture (Capture Device)"
    In case it is, please select it and press "Apply"
    - Is the result from "really quiet, really static-y, or of poor quality" from the local test mode?
    - Are there any erros in your client log? (Tools > client Log)

    And one more thing:
    Does client 3.0.13.1 cause the same problems?
    http://dl.4players.de/ts/releases/3.0.13.1/
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    April 2014
    Posts
    12
    - Im on Windows 7 64bit
    - My microphone is listed:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	88lkb.png 
Views:	307 
Size:	99.2 KB 
ID:	10350
    Yep, still the same.
    As for errors, I have this (what ever it means)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	88lui.png 
Views:	253 
Size:	68.9 KB 
ID:	10351

    I will get back to you on Client 3.0.13.1
    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    April 2014
    Posts
    12
    Client version 3.0.13.1 yields the same results. Quiet, static-y, and poor quality.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,513
    Ok it will be hard to analyze this problem. 2 Years have passed from 3.0.7 to 3.0.13

    Another guess is, that we have added Opus s the default codec in client version 3.0.10 (27 Feb 2013)

    The best way to analyze this is to use 3.0.7 and check if everything is ok (Also check your recording setting in Recoridng tab), then to update to version 3.0.8 recheck etc.
    So there must be a version when it stops working as it was on version 3.0.7
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    April 2014
    Posts
    12
    Client 3.0.8 works fine.
    Client 3.0.9 works fine.
    Client 3.0.10 works fine.
    Client 3.0.11 is where the problems starts, should I continue testing the other clients?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,513
    Thank you for the feedback. I will send that information to our next discussion.
    Only developers will know, what could have changed.

    Sorry, that the current state does not solve the problem with your client and server.

    Edit
    I wonder about the microphone is listed picture.
    Isn't it a USB Microphone? I only see your Asus xonar Microphone input and no USB device.

    In case, that this is no USB device and plugged in into your soundcard. Make sure, that your drivers are up-to date
    Edit
    Last edited by dante696; April 15th, 2014 at 02:22 PM.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    April 2014
    Posts
    12
    My microphone is the XLR version, not the USB version.

    As for drivers, they are up-to-date.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,513
    This information was important.

    So as far i can see on youtube that there are 2 devices in that XLR version.
    1. The microphone > connected to > 2. Mixer&Equalizer > Connected per USB to the pc?
    Is that right? In that case it is a USB device for us and should be listed as new device next to your soundcard.

    Or is that microphone connected to your soundcard directly?
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    April 2014
    Posts
    12
    The microphone is connected directly from my Phantom Power Unit to my Soundcard. Nothing is USB.

    A Mixer/Equalizer is un-needed.
    My soundcard does not take USB.

    Please let me know what other information you need, all that I am telling you is wasting my time.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,513
    I think this is enough for the developers.
    I will report back, when something decided*

    btw i meaned that box, when i said equalizer. I just saw it on different youtube videos.
    At the end i have to say, so this problem is related to your Asus sound card and not to the microphone itself.
    Last edited by dante696; June 27th, 2014 at 03:23 PM.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    April 2014
    Posts
    12
    You are forgetting my microphone works fine elsewhere..

    Bump, still annoyed by this.
    Last edited by dante696; November 7th, 2014 at 01:44 PM. Reason: bumps are not usefull anywhere

  13. #13
    Join Date
    June 2008
    Posts
    18,513
    But elsewhere is not our sound engine / code we use.

    Bumps, will be deleted..... Dev's got informed already....
    Last edited by dante696; November 7th, 2014 at 01:45 PM.
    When sending me private messages: Please make sure to include reference link to your forum thread or post.

    TeamSpeak FAQ || What should i report, when i open a client thread?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    April 2014
    Posts
    12
    Hi, again.

    I have found a fix, but I am unsure if Teamspeak offers an option.

    I need to enable Legacy Drivers for the microphone to be picked up clear and loud.
    This option worked for another VoIP program and hope it will for TS3!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    April 2015
    Posts
    2
    Was this ever fixed?
    I'm experiencing a very similar problem. I have the exact same equipment.

    I have however noticed that if I yell into the microphone, it's barely registers on TS, but it does register and is barely understandable.
    On other similar programs I can leave the mic up to a meter away from myself and talk normally without volume becoming a problem.

    example:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4sxX8JFBobc

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 12th, 2011, 02:06 PM
  2. Update rc1 build:14377 to rc1 build:14468
    By k3nZo in forum Linux / FreeBSD
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: June 3rd, 2011, 02:11 PM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: March 1st, 2011, 04:17 PM
  4. Microphone not working on TS3
    By FiReWrAtH in forum Client Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 21st, 2010, 07:03 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •