Forum

Question enhancement to ban system

Dear community,

i'm a software developer an administrator of a Teamspeak 3 server and as the most administrators i get frustrated by the lack of reliability of our banning system.
    Banning by IP and ID is of cause a good step and in most situation is great, but it does not go far enough.
    Generating a new ID is a work of 5 seconds and gaining a new IP address (if not static) can be done by just restarting the router. In terms of "i don't want or can't restart my router"-people most likely use a VPN service.
    Of cause you can ad a certain security level as a connection criteria and hope that the as***le is too lazy to wait, but more than often you make yourself and your community problems by doing that (even though this is a great function against trolls).
    On my Server (even though i have a needed security level of 30) i got 4 individuals which don't get bored by waiting and my ban list slowly fills quite hard. One of them with the least amount of bans have 9 of them.
    9 bans since 2 weeks… Sure not much but these people are poison for my servers community.

Here is my suggestion for solving this issue:

Couldn't we add a non-changable and encrypted ID for your TS3 installation?
    You install TS3, it takes some client specific data of the current system like systems registration date or first boot timestamp, puts some spice to it by using some of the systems hardware information like:
    - serial ID of the hard drive it is installed on
    - the user-name
    - NICs serial number
    - a.s.o.

After doing that it should be encrypted and saved.

Now:
    If the user starts the client it should the these information and validate it. If these data are invalid, it should tell the user that its installation ID was manipulated and the user has to reinstall the TS3 client.