Forum

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2

    Question Cannot connect to server in DMZ

    Hi folks. I have the latest version of TS server running on my x64 Win 7 Ultimate machine with the local IP in a DMZ.

    I decided to do a DMZ since it'd be a bit easier than having to forward ports.

    However, with the local IP in the DMZ, I can only connect locally. My public IP and hostname (ts.thephishtank.com) doesn't connect. My hostname resolves to my public IP correctly, so I know that's configured fine.

    When I forward the default ports for the server's IP (as listed in a previous forum post) instead of placing it in a DMZ, it works fine.

    I have Verizon FiOS with the newest Actiontec Wireless-N router. I'm pretty familiar with the backend interface, but I'm not sure as to why port forwarding works, and a DMZ does not.

    Anyone have an idea? I'm willing to try anything. I have an intermediate computer background, so I'll be able to mostly understand and troubleshoot however you'd suggest.

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    December 2004
    Location
    RF
    Posts
    3,007
    <03:49:31> Trying to resolve hostname ts.thephishtank.com
    <03:49:35> Trying to connect to server on ts.thephishtank.com
    <03:49:38> Connected to Server: "The Phish Tank"

    Usually, you can not connect to your WAN IP from inside of your local network.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by ANR Daemon View Post
    <03:49:31> Trying to resolve hostname ts.thephishtank.com
    <03:49:35> Trying to connect to server on ts.thephishtank.com
    <03:49:38> Connected to Server: "The Phish Tank"

    Usually, you can not connect to your WAN IP from inside of your local network.
    Ah, okay. I just forwarded the ports so it would work for now. I'm going to remove the forwarded ports from the router's firewall and put the server back in a DMZ. Let me know if you can still connect!

    EDIT: I was connected while I removed the ports and switched to DMZ, it disconnected me from the client, but I was able to reconnect by using my local IP

    EDIT EDIT: I tethered wirelessly with my phone (outside my LAN) and was able to connect via my hostname! Thanks guys!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    June 2011
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,371
    It is a very bad idea to use DMZ if you are not used to networking. It's very dangerous out there in the interwebz without NAT.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [Resolved] Can't connect to a specific server (Failed to connect to server)
    By MightyB in forum Client Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: July 29th, 2015, 03:21 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 28th, 2015, 10:42 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 5th, 2014, 04:53 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 21st, 2014, 11:57 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 21st, 2010, 12:17 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •